Gremlins newbie advice please

Rikk

Hi All,

bit of background, I’ve been playing for 2 years but only get games at tournaments and probably 4-5 tournaments a year, so learning curve is interesting. Especially first ever game (didn’t get spoon at that tournament).

i usually finish bottom or close to bottom table but have more fun playing than trying to win games, and with such a great community it’s not difficult having fun.

Im switching from Ressers to Gremlins this year and a friend has started playing Guild, so I’ll now get regular-ish games in.

last night first game I beat Sonia with ophelia 6-4 in a game that felt I was on back foot whole time while only pulling off a win taking Sonia out turn 5 (leadership) and denying him picking up evidence markers.

i really struggled against burning, he also summoned about 3 models (stalkers) which from turn 3 was out activating me.

(sorry for long intro)

so so my questions are;

Slop haulers, I don’t see how they are that good having such a low healing per 2 AP, unless I bunch my models up, are there better healing options to consider?

burning, was horrible, I had an upgrade to remove conditions but my models were being burnt after they had activated. Any models/upgrades good for this?

i had spread my crew out a reasonable amount as I was nervous about blasts, should I keep closer together and focus on taking out enemies nearer to me before going for schemes?

taxidermist, until I committed to throwing him into charges he was pretty useless. I didn’t hire any stuffed pigs and couldn’t get to a corpse marker to summing one until turn 3. Would you hire any or have tricks to get them in quicker?

sorry for daft questions, rereading seems I’m more whining than asking questions.

have had a good read of most of the posts in the past few months and will be listening to schemes and stones pod casts later tonight.

any help, pointing in right direction would be much appreciated.