Jump to content
  • 0

Piglets and Set Er' Up


klatschi
 Share

Question

Hey,

sorry if this topic came up already but a quick search did only answer some of my questions. So I would also be glad to get a link from a friendly helper :-)

We have the following situation:

Piglet Albert and Piglet Bertram are on their way to do some filthy Scheme Grabbing on a flank of the board. They are completely on their own, so not Gremlin nearby to safe them from "Set'er Off".

Set'er Off "When this model has the opportunity to declare an action, if its not engaged or within 2" of a friendly Gremlin, it must take a Charge Action if there is a legal target available."

and just because we will need it afterwards:

Charge: Target a model within LoS. Move this model up to its Cg in a straight line. This model must end the move with the target model within its engagement range or this Action may not be taken. This model then takes two Range (claw) Attack Actions against the target model. Each of these Actions must have an AP cost of 1. A model may not declare this Action if it is engaged (see Engagement, pg. 48) or if it has a Cg of “—”

 

So we imagine Piglet Albert activates first and now it has to charge Piglet B. For some reasons, the player decides to do the Pig Charge. Maybe he thinks he can kill Bertram, maybe he has misread it. But he does it. So Albert is charging Bertram, hitting him two times. Now comes the interesting part: The two are standing base to base but they are not engaged ("Models are never engaged with models that are friendly to them." p. 48). What can Albert do with his second  Action?

Let's break down Set'er Off:

  • "When this model has the opportunity to declare an action, (it has one AP left - check)
  • if its not engaged or within 2" of a friendly Gremlin, (Piglets are not Gremlins and it is not engaged since Bertram is friendly)
  • it must take a Charge Action  (it can charge Bertram)
  • if there is a legal target available." (Bertram is so legal right now)

So, basically, Albert charges Bertram a second time. And Bertram would do the same, although the Gremlin player would now decide to not use Pig-Charge in order to save two attacks.

Is this correct? This would go on and on until one pig is dead or a Gremlin comes to say "order!"?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Strictly following RAW, they could each declare charges on themselves to move out of charge range of each other, but that would then of course mean that they would always be within range of a legal charge target (themselves), better to just stick to the more sensible interpretation :P

 

(also, interesting, you can choose to charge as a 2, thanks for pointing that out!)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information