Jump to content
  • 0
Tiaburn Stedd

Negated condition and Upgrades restictions

Question

Arcane emissary puts Negated condition on my model. f.e. Lucius. 

Quote

Negated: This model loses all non-Station Characteristics.

Lucius has purchased a Useless Duplication upgrade at the start of the game. Upgrade has restriction Mimic, Rare 1.

Does Lucius have to discard upgrade since he loses his Mimic Characteristic because of this Condition?
I think the answer is "No" because nothing says it should be discarded or removed.
Does Upgrade stop working at all because it is invalid due to this Condition?
I think the answer is "Yes" because restriction is violated

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 5
8 minutes ago, Tiaburn Stedd said:

Arcane emissary puts Negated condition on my model. f.e. Lucius. 

Lucius has purchased a Useless Duplication upgrade at the start of the game. Upgrade has restriction Mimic, Rare 1.

Does Lucius have to discard upgrade since he loses his Mimic Characteristic because of this Condition?
I think the answer is "No" because nothing says it should be discarded or removed.
Does Upgrade stop working at all because it is invalid due to this Condition?
I think the answer is "Yes" because restriction is violated

From the FAQ:

8) Some Actions/Abilities allow models to attach Upgrades during the game. Do these Actions/Abilities need to adhere to the restrictions listed on the Upgrade, or can they be attached to any model? Upgrade restrictions only affect the hiring process, and have no in game effect, so these Upgrades may be attached to any model. If there are any restrictions they will be noted in the Action or Ability’s description. It is worth noting some such Actions and Abilities bother noting “ignoring restrictions” but this is simply reminder text which was put on when there was space available.

 

So the restriction being violated is of no importance after crew hiring.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 3

Upgrade restrictions are only considered when you are hiring your crew. During the actual game you can't have upgrades removed for being illegal, they are only removed by actions/abilities saying they remove them specifically.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...