Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Frugalbar

Zoraida Obey & Brutal Emm Back in the Box

Recommended Posts

So whenever I play up against Guild, I am always staring down the Brutal Emissary.  Last game, I decided to have Zoraida Obey the BE to cast Back in the Box on himself.  I argued this effectively put him out of the game... but I need a check on this.

This was my argument - going thru the ability description after I won the Obey and the Cast flips:

- "Target non-Leader model is buried..."  (BE is buried and leaves play).

 - "...Unbury the target model in Base contact with this model..." (model is currently buried - so model isn't in play)

- "...or any scheme marker in LOS ..." (while buried he doesn't have LOS to anything)

- "...when this model leaves play." (again model is currently buried - so model isn't in play)

 

The BE's Back inn the Box ability is different than the Death Marshall's Pine Box - because Pine Box has specific timing rules about unburying.  Specifically  it says "target model is unburied with this model before this model is removed from play."  The BE does't have that clause on the end.

So that effectively take thes BE out for the game.  It's not easy - you need two flips to pull it off.

So two questions:

1) am I missing something or mis-interpreting something?

2) what would happen if someone was already in the  box when the BE was Obeyed to use it on itself?

 

Frugalbar

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Attack Actions (Malifaux 2E- Rules Manual, pg. 38)
"Attack Actions require a target and LoS (see pg. 40). In addition, a model may never target itself with an Attack Action, unless specifically allowed by another rule."

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...