Jump to content
  • 0
MrDeathTrout

Can you choose to paralyze a model with immunity?

Question

If the Necrotic Machine forces a model with Frozen Heart to either take damage or gain Paralyzed can the Frozen Heart model choose to gain Paralyzed, which is then nullified by Frozen Heart?

I think the answer is no because is says to gain the condition which the Frozen Heard model cannot do, so it is not a valid choice.

 

Quote

Frozen Heart: This model is immune to Horror Duels and Paralyzed. 

 

Quote

 

Necrotic Machines Trigger

:crow:crowInfectious Fluid: After succeeding, the target must discard a card and suffer 1 damage, or gain the Paralyzed Condition.

 

 

 

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

7 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 3

I think the answer is yes. 

The play gets to choice to discard 1 card and take 1 damage. If they decided  not to (possibly becasue they have no cards) then the trigger gives the paralysed condition, which just doesn't happen to the model because of its immunity, so nothing happens. 

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I've just left it here 

Quote

Immunity

A model immune to a game rule cannot be affected by that rule. The model never performs a duel to which it is immune. A model immune to Horror Duels, for instance, simply does not perform the duel.

A model immune to a Condition can never receive the Condition. If an Attack (or other source) causes damage and applies a Condition to a model, the model still suffers the damage, but it would not gain the Condition if it is immune. If a model gains immunity to a Condition while it has the Condition, it immediately removes the Condition.

page 36

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

No, you can't paralyze a model with immunity even if the model's controller wants it to be paralyzed.

Yes, a Frozen Heart model can choose to not discard and take damage to suffer the other consequence (to which they happen to be immune).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
21 minutes ago, santaclaws01 said:

Here's the last time this has come up, albeit with different specifics. 

 

Thank you!  I searched the forum, but missed that one.  It doesn't look like there was  total consensus, but the majority said you can choose the condition.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×