Malifaux Skirmish Dice

wizdom

Notice:  This is a personal project and therefore not endorsed by Wyrd. I'm not selling this game.

I started working on a game design I've been calling Skirmish Dice for quite a while. Quick background on me: I'm a game designer and game publisher, as well as, a total Malifaux fanboy and player since first edition (Arcanists, baby!). After implementing a fantasy theme of my own devising during development, I was talking with some friends who mentioned that the game would be really fun in the Malifaux universe. And so, I have done just that for fun. I thought I'd share it here so my fellow Wyrdos could check it out.

Tonight I started cutting out the prototype:

Malifaux_Skirmish_Dice_Cut.thumb.jpg.b4b93be29ebe69509198d7509086bf21.jpg

The first two crews I picked are the Raspy box and Jakob Lynch box. It's been fun trying to capture the essence of each model in a streamlined form for this game.

The Gist

The game is a dice and card combat game for two-players. Each player has a team (or crew in Malifaux) with units (models) represented by dice. Three sides of each die show an action, while two show a different action, and a third action is shown by the last side. In this way, each die has three possible actions. The dice are moved around on a grid map and attack one another. Under each die is a base (custom square bases designed to hold these indented dice in the pic - 3D printed). When attacks are made, etc. the dice are rolled and placed back in their bases. Here are the dice sides from the photo above...

LsZIZT6.jpg