Jump to content
  • 0

Does Dreamer gain waking if he fails a summon?


Slapdrone
 Share

Question

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

I would say yes, and have always played it that way. The ability has a TN, so the wording on the ability is working under the assumption that you've successfully hit that number. Usually an ability will say if it works partially even if you don't hit the number, so without specifically saying he gets it anyways, I'd say it's only on success. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

In absence of specific rules, what is described in the action happens only if the attack succeed. So only if you hit the TN you will raise the waking condition.

To see an example of something happening also in case of a failure of the action, go to read the wording of jackhammer kick attack on Mei Feng card, that explicitly state that the push in b2b with target happens also in case of failure or disengaging strike.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
 

Helping the henchman out with a league event and the question came up.  Dreamer player read it as every attempt raised the waking.  Opponent read it as only if it went off.  RAW seemed to go either way.  Clarification appreciated.

Open the Rules Manual (available for free in PDF form) to Page 37 or the Core Rulebook to page 38, and read the example on the page for Tactical Actions; and explain why you think the rules as written would go either way.

If the duel is successful, the listed effect, which starts on after the colon, is resolved. Some sample Tactical Actions look like this:

(1) Take a Swig: Target model within 2” heals 1/2/3 damage.
(2) Ya’ll Watch This (Ca 4 / TN: 12 / Rg: p2): All models in range suffer 3 damage. Sacrifice this model.

The Take a Swig Action shown above does not require a duel; the model simply declares the Action and a target model within 2” and LoS to make a healing flip. However, the Gremlin’s Ya’ll Watch This Action requires it to succeed on a TN 12 Simple Duel to generate the effect following the colon. If it does not win the Simple Duel, it does not deal 3 damage to models in range or sacrifice itself.

As mentioned, Jackhammer Kick is an example of what it takes for an action to have any effects when it fails:

(1) Jackhammer Kick (Ml 6 / Rst: Df / Rg: :melee3): Target suffers 2/3/6 damage. Then, this model pushes directly into base contact with the target, even if this Attack Action fails or was taken as a Disengaging Strike.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information