Steamage Dandy

Hamelin vs Victorias - looking for advice

Hello everone,

I'm new to the game and have played only a couple of games with my Hamelin crew, which were all nice and fun until I faced the Victorias.

Having to play Reckoning against them was no fun whatsoever. In the end I lost 8:6, managing to score 5 points from my shemes, as did my opponent, but only once scoring from the strategy.

The no fun part however was not due to losing, but rather due to the feeling of being massively outmatched. Facing a crew with such massive damage output and very powerful and obvious abilities, which also has access to hard to kill condition removall, card and soulstone manipulation etc was quite daunting, even frustrating. Thinking about the game afterwards I could not see alot thatt I could have done differentlxy to change the outcome.

So far I only have the Hamelin starter and the brotherhood of the rat box - so Hamelins core crew, with the "The Lost" models awaiting painting. My list featured

Hamelin (The Plague, Survivalist, The Piper)

Nix (Hollow, Infectious melodies)

2x Ratcatcher

Lost

Obedient Wretch

5 rats (ended up summoning two ratkings on turn 1)

versus

Victoria 1

Victoria 2

Johan(na)

Student of Conflict

2xRonin

Vanessa

Freikorps Librarian

(don't know what upgrades my opponent used)

Strategy: Reckoning

Shemes I picked: Frame for Murder, Plant explosives (scored 2/3) My opponent picked the same and scored the same.

I'd appreciate any constructive advice on how to play against teh Victorias, without feeling utterly out of control. :)(I have been plaqying miniature games for over 20 years, so I know that some factions are hard to beat and frustrating at first, but after thinking about it for a long while and looking over their cards, I reallydon't see how in this case...)