help finding the S.O. a faction?

So, I'm trying to get the hubby into Malifaux. He's not a miniatures guy, nor does wargaming, all his stuff's online. He likes looking at my models and that's about it. I'm trying to help him pick a faction for Malifaux, so he can play with me, at least at home, if not at the FLGS (he has a bad back).

I play Gremlins. And really, that's about all I know about, I'm not good with the other factions. I've read a few threads here, but they got really technical, really fast, and I just couldn't follow them.

Online games, aside from like Kerbal Space program, he tends to play the shooty, DPS (mage/archer) types. Not much into tank n spank. In strategy games (like Warcraft III, Dune, Command and Conquer) he liked to base build and then go all out.

Assuming any of this helps ^^ what might be a good general match for him? I'm looking to buy him a crew box to try out, if he doesn't like it, we're not all in and can try something else.

Normally I personally go by looks first and gameplay second but he's a bit reversed.

Appreciate any help!

Guild and outcasts both have the most reliable shooting (I feel like outcasts are more generalists while guild bring the best guns), but not much in the way of synergy. If he likes synergy and is okay with his guys dying, gremlins... but it looks like you have that covered?

I'd probably go Guild, simply because outcasts have so many choices from other factions, so they're less practical especially if you don't also have a decent resser collection.

• Like 2

How much is he into KSP? Is he going to enjoy the puzzle when things get really technical, really fast? Is he going to read pullmyfinger tactical wiki for fun and profit? If he does love the complicated playstyle, then we can send him to Hoffman or Jack Daw or Tara.