Torokage out of Ten Thunders

I was just wondering if people use the Torokage as Mercenaries - I've only ever seen them used either in 10 Thunders lists or in Outcast Last Blossom lists. I've no experience with them but when I inevitably get 10 Thunders (come on Wyrd! :P) I'll get them but wondering if people use them as mercs and if so how/when?

Like RarerMonsters said, paying an extra point for an already mediocre figure?   Nope.
I feel like in 10 Thunders, the only reason people use them is because they *Really* want to use ninjas, not because they're particularly good at anything.
I'm having trouble imagining a scenario where a faction's own models wouldn't be a better choice than Torakage at that points cost.

Unless you need something very specific, I never find the merc tax worth paying on lower cost models, since most factions have an equivalent piece without the tax.

Johan is very cheap for a decent beater and condition removal. Trappers are just strong snipers where not all factions have native snipers. Performers have their poison shenanigans (if that's what you're doing) + lure.

I don't think there are any other mercs (that I'll pay the extra SS for) that are cheaper than the 10 range that I consider even semi-regularly when building a list (though I'm curious about Burt in Outcasts). If I field mercs, it's typically to get something very specific and expensive, where the tax is proportionally less of their cost.

• Like 1

On 4/29/2016 at 1:16 PM, RarerMonsters said:

I mean, they're not fantastic in 10t so I can't see them being good at 1ss more expensive.

I do not understand why everyone says Torakage are are not that good...maybe its my meta, or maybe its that im not interested in tournaments but i find Torakage to just as good as any other mid point minion in 10T.