Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Samsson

Making a Henchman become a Peon

Question

Hey guys!

Interesting question came up during yesterday's game. If I have chosen my henchman for the Gaining Grounds scheme Undercover Entourage and succeeded in walking him over the table into the opponent's deployment zone, can Madame Sybelle use her Bleeder Lash trigger "Death Mark" to make my henchman into a Peon and negate the points I would be scoring?

So the real question is, when is the "must be a henchman" locked in for the purpose of schemes like this?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

9 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 7
Quote

When you choose this Scheme, note down one of this Crew’s Master or Henchman models. At the end of the game, if the chosen model is in the opponent’s half of the table, this Crew earns 1 VP.

If the chosen model is in the enemy Deployment Zone at the end of the game, this Crew earns 1 additional VP.

If the chosen model is in the opponent’s half of the table at the end of the game and has half or more of its Wounds remaining, this Crew earns 1 additional VP.


When you choose the scheme, it has to be a valid choice.  After that, nothing cares what happens to the model.

Because you don't look across the table and go "Ha, I have conquered time and now you are retroactively a cheater because you chose an invalid model!"  :P

I mean, Howard Langston didn't stop being Howard Langston because he's now a peon.

 

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 6

In my opinion, the requirement of "be a Henchman" affects only when you choose the model. The scoring VP only requires that the model choosen is in the deployment enemy zone, regardless if at that point he is a Henchman or not.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 1
21 minutes ago, lusciousmccabe said:

I'd there anything in the rules to say a model can't have more than one station charactersic? Because if not it only matters for schemes that specify non-Peon models, which I believe undercover entourage doesn't.

"A model never has more than one station characteristic"

It doesn't matter whether the target of entourage becomes peon or not though. At the beginning of the game you have to choose a non-peon model. At the end of the game the chosen model can earn you points depending on its location. The station characteristic only matters when the model is chosen.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

My natural reaction would be that once the model has been chosen according to the scheme rules, it is locked in.

Now we've got two different opinions already. Anyone else want to weight in? :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Entourage says that the model chosen must be a henchman/leader and if that model fufils the condition then you score VP. This is regardless of whether it still is or isn't a henchman. The wording is fairly clear IMO. The model is still the same one you chose and because the henchman part is only important when selecting the model Bleeding Lash does not stop the model from completing the scheme.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • -1

Bleeder Lash states "Death Mark:After damaging,the target must discard one card or gain the following Condition for the rest of the game:Death Mark:This model is treated as having the Peon characteristic for Encounter purposes and may not take Interact Actions."

Seems fairly clear from that he would be a Peon and so would not score if you had not removed the condition by the end of the game.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • -1

I'd there anything in the rules to say a model can't have more than one station charactersic? Because if not it only matters for schemes that specify non-Peon models, which I believe undercover entourage doesn't.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • -3

The scheme states "at the end of the game, if the chosen model is in the opponents half etc..."

So it would be at the end of the game.  Give you opportunity to try and remove the condition.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information