Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  

Question

Question about Scheme marker placement, Can they stack?


 

https://youtu.be/evdgzOGEeTU?t=20m14s

In this video “allowed to stack scheme markers on top of eachother”. Both the Large book pg.49 and the small book pg.56 are written the same and ready the same way. And yes, both are ambiguous.


 

While playing I have heard both arguments but there hasn’t been any resolution. Below I break down different pros and cons for each that I have run across.

 

The arguments FOR stacking references Section 1 Paragraph 4

 

“Sometimes a model will drop multiple markers. It is perfectly acceptable for two Markers to be on top of each other; both have their effects, it doesn’t matter which one is placed on top.

 

This doesn’t specify if the “multiple Markers” can be friendly or if it's only legal to stack opposed markers.

 

And Section 4 Paragraph 4

 

“Models may take a (1) interact Action to remove EVERY enemy Scheme Marker that is in base contact with the model.”

 

The last point isn’t written in either rule book but a logic question. There are a great many Schemes and Strategies that are impossible combos; if every Marker needs a minimum of 4” between each other then certain combinations of S&S are illegal or impossible combinations. This could be a broken flaw to the game or an intentional layer of play strategy to understand the broken and illegal combos.

 

Additional things to note, There are many synergy and metta shenanigans of certain models that almost sound like they would support stackable markers.

 

The argument AGAINST stacking references Section 4 Paragraph 4

 

“Models may place a scheme Marker in base contact with themselves and NOT within 4” of another friendly Scheme Marker by taking a (1) Interact Action.”

 

Secondly, almost every Scheme and Strategy breaks or becomes moot if you can stack markers. E.G. Line in the Sand becomes an Auto-Take every time.

 

The rule book breaks down markers into the following sections,

 

Markers: Three paragraphs

 

Paragraph 1 - Description/Overview

Paragraph 2 - Rules

Paragraph 3 - Summary

 

Corps Markers: Three paragraphs

Paragraph 1 - Overview

Paragraph 2 - Operation

Paragraph 3 - Clarification

 

Scrap markers: Three paragraphs

Paragraph 1 - Overview

Paragraph 2 - Operation

Paragraph 3 - Clarification


 

Scheme Markers: Four Paragraphs

Paragraph 1 -  Rules

Paragraph 2 - Overview

Paragraph 3 - Clarification

Paragraph 4 - Rules

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

9 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 3

Yes, you can stack scheme markers.

As for the markers needing to be 4" from each other, that is only when dropped by an interact action. Any other action or ability that can drop scheme markers will have their own specific rules for their placement, if they have any.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

While this topic has't be directly addressed in the FAQ, this entry acknowledges that you can have a stack of scheme markers:

49) Q: If a model on a 30mm base is positioned perfectly on top of a 30mm Scheme Marker such
that the Marker is completely covered, can other models draw LoS to the Scheme Marker?
A: No. Note that in the case multiple Scheme Markers are stacked on top of each other (with nothing else on top of/
blocking them) models may draw LoS to all Markers in the stack because Scheme Markers are not blocking. 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

From the rulebook, even (Malifaux 2nd Edition, page 49):

Quote

Markers are commonly dropped by models that die, or as part of a Scheme. Sometimes a model will drop multiple Markers. It is perfectly acceptable for two Markers to be on top of each other; both have their effects, it doesn't matter which one is placed on top.

Between that, FAQ entry 49, and FAQ entry 11:

Quote

11) Q: If a model with the Finish the Job Ability is killed, can it place a Scheme Marker within 4” of another friendly Scheme Marker (or while engaged)?

A: Yes. Finish the Job is not an Interact Action, so the restrictions on using the (1) Interact Action to place Scheme Markers do not apply.

The fact that the FAQ is discussing how multiple stacked scheme markers work is enough evidence that it's okay.  :)

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 4/18/2016 at 3:23 PM, Thimblesage said:

 

“Models may take a (1) interact Action to remove EVERY enemy Scheme Marker that is in base contact with the model"

So, it is legal to pick up a stack of markers with a one interact ap?

If they are base to base with my dood?

 

Apologies for the necro, have been searching and this is as close as I have gotten to an answer.

 

-B

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
6 minutes ago, Bumpasses said:

So, it is legal to pick up a stack of markers with a one interact ap?

If they are base to base with my dood?

Yes exactly. The are all considered btb with you even if technically on top of each other because they don't have a ht value (or it is 0, can't remember). You could post a new question, there is no rule against it. :) 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 minute ago, Bumpasses said:

Right, but I can pick up a stack of say 3 placed by Sensei Yu and Mighty Gust?

Yep, that is completely ok. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...