so, I am new to Malifaux and just ordered:

1 x Outcasts Vanessa, Treasure Hunter

1 x Outcasts Hired Swords

1 x M2E Malifaux Rules Manual

1 x Outcasts Hans

1 x Outcasts Convict Gunslinger

1 x Outcasts Desperate Mercenary

1 x Malifaux Schemes and Strategies

Hoping it is a smart first buy. Comments and advice welcome.

Welcome. 

You have a pretty good selection of models to build your crews from. 

I would suggest buying the general upgrades deck, as there are a lot of upgrades you will want to consider. (If you have other players locally you might be able to split it with them, as you'll only want the outcast section, at least for now). This will probably change your crews mlore than any other purchase for this price. 

Play a few games with what you have, and see how the games go. If you find the Viks are dying too fast, then the Libarian is a good option. The Child can also heal, or probably more commonly, cast the Ca actions that you have given to Vik of Ash with her upgrades. 

If you find that you struggle to get enough scheme markers down, or are generally low on bodies, then you might want to look at winged plague. I would personally suggest Hodgepodge Effigy before them, and probably also void wretches, but there isn't a truely right answer.  But basically, try what you own, see where you are findign short falls, and we can easily suggest eitehr a model that forfills them, or ways that you might use what you already have to do it

• Like 1

Heya, welcome to the best faction! We pay better!  Based on your purchase I assume you are starting with the Viks?

My fairly standard Vik list is:

Outcasts

Viktoria Of Ashes -- 3ss pool
 +Sisters In Fury - 2ss

Malifaux Child - 2ss

Freikorps Librarian - 7ss

Freikorps Trapper - 6ss

Freikorps Trapper - 6ss

Hannah - 10ss
 +I Pay Better - 1ss

Lazarus - 10ss
 +Oathkeeper - 1ss

Viktoria Of Blood - 0ss
 +Oathkeeper - 1ss
 +Mark Of Shez'uul - 2ss