Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Red Moon Head

Criid, reincarnation and things dying from burning.

Question

Hey dudes, just watched a batrep where something died from the burning condition and allowed Criid to summon.

It was the burning that killed the model so I had assumed it wasn't possible (as you remove the burning to do taht fatal damage).

 

however the more I look at it I'm convincing myself it is possible.

 

model takes wounds equal to its burning condition > then remove the condition.

 

meaning of that model hits 0 wounds sonnia can "step in" between those two steps and summon. Is this correct or have I been playing it right from the start?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 1

As it says in the extra rules section on Burning:

During the Upkeep Step any model with the Burning Condition suffers an amount of damage equal to the Burning value. The effect is then removed.

and in Burning itself:

Burning +1: At the end of the turn this model suffers +1 damage, then remove this Condition.

In other words, the model has Burning +X when it's taking the damage from Burning +X.

You don't remove the condition to cause the damage, it's a sequence of events that happens whether or not the model manages to avoid the damage or there's some effect preventing condition removal.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, solkan said:

As it says in the extra rules section on Burning:

During the Upkeep Step any model with the Burning Condition suffers an amount of damage equal to the Burning value. The effect is then removed.

and in Burning itself:

Burning +1: At the end of the turn this model suffers +1 damage, then remove this Condition.

In other words, the model has Burning +X when it's taking the damage from Burning +X.

You don't remove the condition to cause the damage, it's a sequence of events that happens whether or not the model manages to avoid the damage or there's some effect preventing condition removal.

 

So if it drops them to 0 wounds sonnia can immediately summon of it then? 

Awesome, I've been ripping myself off it seems!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
45 minutes ago, Red Moon Head said:

So if it drops them to 0 wounds sonnia can immediately summon of it then? 

Awesome, I've been ripping myself off it seems!

Yep, if the model drops to 0 wounds, Sonnia's ability gets resolved and you summon a model before removing the killed model.

Don't forget about the entry in the FAQ concerning Explosive Demise and Violation of Magic, though.  'immediate' is an elastic concept. 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information