Iron Quill- Strings- Curtain Call

Idle Hands

(Think I've got everything in it. Not sure of word count, but hey, it's my first time writing anything other than forum posts, so without further ado)

Curtain Call

The "Idol" startled awake from the dream again.

He'd been having this dream, or a variation of it, a lot lately. Thinking about it, he couldn't recall not having it. He'd been trying his best, whether by drink, drug, or other, more esoteric excesses, to forget it. After all, he was already living his dream, yet here it was again. They had been coming far more frequently, and much more lucidly the last week, in spite of his best efforts. 

Looking around his rented room (the finest in all of Malifaux), he realized those must have been some efforts, seeing the condition of his boots and cloak. He didn't remember being anywhere near the swamp the previous night, but the tell-tale mud caked on them spoke a truth his memory couldn't. He presumed there would be yet another slightly awkward exchange with the concierge, another handful of scrip to maintain the staff's discretion. It wasn't like he didn't have the money. He actually chuckled a bit at the thought. He was, after all, "the Idol", which birthed another laugh. His former manager had come up with that, right when his career had taken on a life of its own, and it stuck, just like the mud and cattail on the hem of his cloak...