From ideas to reality - my terrain diary

Grantt

Hello!

I'm an avid terrain designer and builder; it's my favourite part of the hobby in general. I try to get one project completed each year and, without fail, I always get asked if I can recreate terrain for other people to buy. So I decided to get myself a laser-cutter and see if I could join the ever-growing world of MDF terrain building. 

My first official project is a selection of Victorian terrain which comes in three distinct sets. I'm currently still in the design stage of the first, which involves hours spent slaving over Illustrator to create cutting templates. Once I've finalised these designs, it's over to the cutter to run prototypes and see if it all fits together.

Laser-cutters are interesting machines. They can make a painstaking process exceptionally fast, but are still limited in what they can actually produce. I've already learnt that engraving is not a particularly viable option, as it's rather slow, and have had to redesign several buildings to speed up production. The following building, for example, took 6+ hours to engrave - not very economical.

IMG_0046_2_zpsc8672daa.jpg

So, although I think it looks bitchin', I had to scrap this design. I'd have to sell it for £80 plus to make any kind of real profit from it, purely for the time it takes to make. Even this smaller building takes over an hour;

IMG_0049_2_zps65f1e9a3.jpg

Anyway, after practicing with several different buildings just to check that my designs will work, I have found a way to make detailed, quickly cut buildings. i will post my prototypes once I've run them, but for now I'll give you a teaser of my design...

IMG_0050_2_zps8e8d00a7.jpg

More to come soon...

Oh, and did I mention my kickstarter that's due next year? Might be best to mention that now... 

• Like 1

The first building may have taken 6+ hours but damn.... that is a fine looking piece of terrain. The curved roof is what makes it, I feel.