Why does it all come back to toshiro?

So, I've been doing a lot of thinking about where I want to expand into next. I've thought about getting back into arcanists, I've thought about branching into 10 thunders (I have a couple masters, and I'm really interested in the way the dual factions that supposedly "only play" in their non-10 thunders factions- it's like a puzzle I want to figure out...

Then I thought about ressurs and as a mcmourning and tara owner I look at my options and see:

Seamus and Molly (Who I love for fluff reasons) who I don't really want to play, and don't have a ton of the models. 

Yan Lo, who falls into the 10 thunders problem, "Oh he plays best with Ressurs". But I'm not really in love with his play style either...

And Kirai, who I sort of have a crush on. 

If I were to launch into 10 thunders, one of the people I'd love to play is Mei Feng, and from the looks of it, command the graves and Toshiro look like an excellent add to that crew. As well as any crew that loves to have minions around, like McCabe perhaps. 

And if I get into Kirai, I hear that Toshiro is an amazing add there, as he is giving buffs to the minions Kirai's summoning, and is able to give her a recurring wound battery in the Komainu or the Ashigaru.

The only real problem is I don't really love the sculpt of Toshiro. I know that I can go down one of two or three roads:

• One Suck it up and buy him anyways- if he's that good a model, I'll get over it.
  • Two: Get a proxy and do some painting and modeling to make him make sense, but potentially forfeit my ability to play him at sanctioned events. 
  • Three: Buy him and canabalize the fig untill there's enough of the original model left for him to be considered a "Conversion", though my feelings on the model are at such a base level that I don't know what I'd like to "save".