The viks

slowlauris

Ok so I started playing malifaux with my bf about a month ago.

After him telling me about all the fractions and stuff I felt a connection to molly and the ressers, obviously I cant play molly so I started off with seamus to see how it went. I seemed to fail miserably.

After my ego took quite a beating I decided maybe the ressers weren't for me. So I decided to try the outcasts as I liked the power the viks have.

Played them for the first time the other day and although I didnt win, and I lost both of the viks by turn 2, I think, I enjoyed playing the crew I had alot more.

My crew was a convict, 2 ronin, vanessa, sue, student of conflict, I think there was something else but cant remember.

Anyway, he played arcs and did most of the damage with ramos by controlling my convict and getting him to shoot the crap out of my crew, well played I thought.

He said my main downfall was that I held the viks back too long as they work better in combat.

Anyone got any tips as who I should have in my crew to benefit them and what the best upgrades are.

Also the whole sisters thing confuses me, like the moving them to be near eachother and stuff so help with that would be much appreciated :)

Welcome to the game!

The Malifaux Wiki, Pull My Finger, has lots of useful information on Masters and models that can be a help when trying to figure out how everyone works. 

The Vikis really do want to be played aggressively, though that doesn't mean you have to charge them in at the first thing that gets within range, either. 

When I was learning the Viktorias, I gave Ashes the Synchronized Slaying upgrade (just to give her Accomplice) and Survivalist (for Hard to Kill) and then gave Viktoria of Blood the Mark of Shez'uul (to let her ignore lots of common defensive abilities) and Tally Sheet (to let her draw a card whenever she kills something).