The Breach Reopens

Mako

This thread is for me to keep a campaign summary going, because hopefully it will be interesting to see how it unfolds. I’m new to the whole GM thing, but after the usual confusion and faint dread, I actually realised there was only really one tricky thing about FMing for Through the Breach – the destiny steps themselves. Coming up with a vaguely coherent story to tie 20 cryptic prophesies together at least in part was a bit of a daunting task.

The players were Anna Bywaters (Bowchikawowers), Felix Boon (Edonil), Illinois Ford (Mister Monkey) and Roger Just (Webmonkey). I know Anna and Felix are keeping journals of it on here too:

http://wyrd-games.net/community/topic/100689-forging-fated-anna-bywater/

http://wyrd-games.net/community/topic/100530-forging-a-fated-felix-boon/

The campaign was set up to be vaguely focussed on action, not politics, and based in the immediate aftermath of the breach reopening. That meant no human settlement in Malifaux, and no access to magic or soulstones at character creation. I’d agreed to give them 5 scrip extra each so that one of the characters would be able to have a whip (because I couldn’t resist having a whip wielding academic adventurer on the team), which also frankly made sense given they were joining an expedition into presumably hostile territory and wouldn’t be going in with nothing.

A few days before the session, I sent them this letter, approving their application to join the expedition:

BreachreopensLetterofServicesml_zpsd7924

The first week would be a mix of intro and a bit of exploration, where the team would meet a few of the key people kicking about in the expedition and get them in place for future weeks. I also chose to focus on Felix Boon’s first destiny, as you will be unmourned by the father.