Search the Community
Showing results for tags 'vantage point'.
A scenario occurred in a game last night and I would love clarification and the thoughts of the community. Prefix: (taken from the Large rule-book and online FAQ) • Engagement range: equal to the distance of its longest range Close (y) Attack. • Models are engaged with each other if either model is: 1. Within the engagement range of the other 2. At least one of the models has LoS to the other. • Disengaging strikes occur before moving – “If a model wishes to leave an enemy model's engagement, it must declare that it wishes to do so before moving. • Models may take walk actions if they do not leave engagement range • Models may take a walk action while engaged and walk out of LoS while staying within engagement range which will not evoke a disengaging strike. “Disengaging strikes only occur if the model intends to leave the engagement range. Although the models will no longer be engaged once their LoS to each other is broken, no disengaging strike occurs unless the model is also leaving the engagement range.” Here’s what happened last night: A ht:1 Watcher was engaged with an enemy model. Both were on top a Ht:5 building. Inside the building there was a 2nd floor level at Ht:3. There was a theory that since the Watcher has Flight, he can ignore the ground he was standing on and sink to the Ht:3 floor immediately below him; thus not invoking a disengaging strike. “Flight: This model is immune to falling damage and may ignore any terrain or models while moving.” Seems cheesy and definitely not how the game is supposed to be played. I would love to know how to support my claim that this isn’t in good taste but don’t know how to.
In the small rule book Pg. 42 it reads: Does this rule only go one way or can enemy models ignore the ledge when drawing LoS? Practical example: Two opposing models are standing in a ruined building. One of the models is standing on a Ht:3 ledge inside the building and is within it's Ht of the ledge so it may ignore the ledge when it draws LoS. the enemy model is exactly and directly below the model standing on the ground floor. according to the rules the model standing on the 3rd story, (vantage point Ht:3) would be able to ignore the ledge and draw a sight line to the model directly below it. however, would the model below be able to ignore the ledge and draw a LoS back to the above model? if the rule only goes one way then this would not be the case.
Are the vantage point reversed when you are shooting at a model from the lower level? In the picture from the manual would Lilith (if she could shoot) have line of site to Rasputina? Since Raspuntina is not exactly on the edge but within her height (2") from the edge she can see out but can models without a vantage point see her? If they can see her does Rasputina gain hard cover from the ground because the LOS lines pass through the ground?
A Ht1 model (e.g. guild hound) is hidden behind a Ht2 terrain. An enemy ht1 model (e.g. Burt Jebsen) is standing on a ht2 cliff (vantage point), and another Ht3 enemy model (e.g. Lucas McCabe) on the ground, same level as the guild hound in question. Based on the elevation and vantage point rules, it seems to me that McCabe can draw LoS to guild hound, while Jebsen can't. Is that so?