Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'triggers'.



More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Categories

  • Wyrd News
  • Games
    • Malifaux 2E
    • Through the Breach
    • Puppet Wars Unstitched
    • Evil Baby Orphanage
    • Jetpack Unicorn
    • Showdown
    • Kings of Artifice

Forums

  • Forum News & Rules
    • Wyrd Announcements
    • Wyrd Board Help and Code of Conduct
    • Community Events
    • Wyrd Events
  • Discussions and Interests
    • News, Reviews, & Discussion
    • The Hobby Room
  • Malifaux
    • Faction Discussion
    • Malifaux Discussion
    • Malifaux Rules Discussion
  • Through the Breach
    • TTB Discussion
    • Player Creations
  • The Other Side
    • TOS - Allegiances
    • TOS - Discussion
    • The Other Side Rules Discussion
  • Other Games
    • Board Games
  • Super Secret Forum
  • The131's Upcoming events

Blogs

There are no results to display.

There are no results to display.


Find results in...

Find results that contain...


Date Created

  • Start

    End


Last Updated

  • Start

    End


Filter by number of...

Joined

  • Start

    End


Group


Website URL


Skype


Location


Interests


Biography:


Location:

Found 28 results

  1. Hi Wyrdos!! 😁 Me and my friends have played like this since M2E, but recently have been asked a question about triggers. So there it is "how can I have +2 dmg on critical strike or +2 poison on infect on minions since they don't always have the built in triggers?" Maybe I'm not understanding it right but there was my answer : with fate modifier (+ or - flip) you will have multiple card in the action's final duel. Wich possibly add a new suit in the duel so it is possible to have a +2 dmg on critical strike or infect that way. For exemple if a flesh construct use a melee action and for X reason he have a - flip on the attack and he's declaring a trigger (infect wich give poison +x where x is the number of crow in the action's final duel total). Now I have 2 card in the final duel (wich are crows for the situation) so I take the lowest cause of the - flip but the other suit is still there in the "action final duel total". So after the other model receive +2 poison cause of that. Or am I obligate to choose the suit of the card final duel and only that one? It is my interpretation of the rule so correct me if we are wrong 🤓
  2. Hey all, I was a light dabbler in M2E, but pretty excited to jump deeper into 3E. As a big lady J fan, there’s a rule question I can’t figure out. How exactly does attacking a buried model work? For models like marshal recruiters who can target buried models with actions - do their attacks follow all the normal rules and patterns for attacks against buried models, just ignoring range and LoS? That would be my assumption based on what the core rules seem to say. Does that mean buried models still compete in duels, can cheat fate, etc? And probably most importantly, if a buried model has a defense trigger that lets them take some kind of action that affects the game world, can they still do those?
  3. The trigger on Lord of Steel's Spear of Ages reads thusly: Open Wound: Immediately increase the Strength of this Action by +1 per in the final duel total. When not in Glory, there is no suit built-in to the stat of the Spear of Ages attack. When in Glory, there is one . The wording on using suits for triggers is listed as below in the rulebook: When a player declares a Trigger, they spend the indicated suit(s) or Margin Values from their final duel total. Spent suits are removed from the final duel total... Therefore, unless you are getting at least 2 , there is no benefit from this trigger. The Machinations Stratagem is the only way I can find to gain another from other models or abilities that I am aware of. So the trigger is otherwise wasted text when not in Glory, and requires you to flip/cheat a when in Glory, aside from playing the Machinations Stratagem. Would this be correct? Strength 5 is still great but if the above is true, I'm not really sure why they wasted the space on the card when not in Glory just to cover for if i) Machinations is taken, purchased and played AND ii) Part of the Plan is used to gain a AND iii) a card is used for the attack. Most of the time I would prefer to use the extra Morale action for each unit granted by Machinations for another Take To The Sky, or for an Interact action.
  4. My question is about the Grootslang's abilities. In its "Lair to Lair" action its trigger "Strike from Concealment" states "This model may immediately take a 1 AP action" and its 1 ap attack "Wide Claws" has a trigger that reads "Slink Away - After succeeding, take the Lair to Lair action" since these triggers do not specify that the other AP action used cannot use triggers, does this mean that as long as you keep drawing the correct suits these abilities can keep being chained? I.E. - going back and forth lair to lair and possibly landing 6 attacks?
  5. Question about Jakob Lynches Defensive Ability called Hold 'Em and Mcmournings ability Organ Donor. Hold 'Em - "If an attacker cheats an attack action against this model, the attacker suffers 2 damage AFTER resolving the attack action" Organ Donor - "After this model inflicts damage with a ML action, it heals an amount of damage equal the the damage inflicted " I.E. - My Jakob Lynch was charged by my friends Mcmourning model. He cheated fate for the attack to hit and damaged my Lynch with Surgical Instruments. It triggered my Defensive ability Hold Em. Question - Would Jakob Lynches Hold 'Em trigger before Mcmournings Organ Donor heal happens OR after?
  6. Hi, Parker has this trigger: "Empty The Chamber: Before flipping damage, discard any number of Upgrades from this model to deal +1 damage for each Upgrade discarded." And also has this ability: "Limited Supplies: Once per Turn, after this model discards an Upgrade, add one Soulstone to this Crew's Soulstone Pool." So, should they work together? Also most of his upgrades have this part about discarding them: "This model gains the following Ability: Fast Getaway: At the start or end of this model's Activation, it may discard this Upgrade to take a Walk Action." Should two abilities work together?
  7. Get right to the good stuff... The scenario: Bete Noir starts the game buried. A void wretch uses it's Void Maw on the first activation and reduces Bete Noir to 0 wounds. NOW - The rule book on buried model states that: "When a model is buried it is removed from play... The model is not counted as killed or sacrificed when it is buried. Buried models cannot Activate. In addition, buried models are never considered to be in LoS or within range of effects. These models do not count as "in play" for the purposes of other rules that reference whether or not a model is in play. Buried models still process Conditions and other effects that happen at the end of the Turn (such as the Burning or Poison Conditions). If a model becomes buried during its Activation, end its Activation (it loses all AP and moves to the End Activation Step). - So far nothing about not being able to use ABILITIES Dead & Buried It is possible for models to be killed while they are buried, albeit somewhat rarely. If a model that is buried is killed, it will not benefit from any abilities that happen on the model's death (like Finish the Job). In addition, models that are buried at the end of the game count as killed for Encounter victory purposes. - Ok, so now we have that IF the model is KILLED (not reduced to zero wounds, but KILLED) it may not benefit from ABILITIES. Further, we have the FAQ that states: Pg. 29, “Triggers” Section: Add the following text to the last paragraph: “Models may not declare Triggers during Disengaging Strikes or while Buried unless explicitly noted otherwise.” - So now we have established that a model cannot declare a TRIGGER while buried. Now the tricky part, the wording on Bete Noir's card: "When this model IS REDUCED TO 0 WOUNDS, it may immediately take the (1) One With the Night Action before COUNTING AS KILLED. If the action succeeds, this model IS NOT KILLED." Then we have "One With the Night" "Bury this model and then remove all Conditions and heal all damage on this model." Ok, so here's my problem. In the above scenario the Void Wretch reduced Bete to 0 which then leads to Bete being able to declare her ability. The rulebook states that IF the model is KILLED, they cannot benefit from abilities that happen on their death, but this ability happens BEFORE she's counted as killed. So, can Bete then RE-Bury? as strange as that sounds. The RAW seems to address models that are killed while buried not having access to abilities and the FAQ seems to address models that are buried not having access to their triggers... but Bete's wording seems to wiggle around them. So, can you help? Is Bete dead for good in the above scenario, or is she the lone model in Malifaux that could truly be unkillable (granted the flip goes your way)?
  8. Hi all, Tried to find a thread addressing this directly but couldn't. The Scenario: A Witchling Stalker is targeted by a Attack, Triggers Drawn to Pain, and is pushed into Hard Cover. Timing wise, is the damage flip affected by the new LoS drawn? Rules: Cover: "A model will gain the benefits of cover from a () Attack when any LoS line between the Attacking model and the target model can be drawn through any terrain with the soft or hard cover traits that is within 1” of the target model. Terrain with the soft cover trait will grant soft cover which imposes a to the Attack flip of any () Attack Actions Terrain with the hard cover trait will grant hard cover which imposes a to the Attack and damage flip of any () Attack Actions." Drawn to Pain: "After failing an opposed Df duel but before suffering damage, push this model 4” towards the Attacker." Interpretation: RAW: It seems relatively clear that the Push into cover will result in the Witchling Stalker benefiting from Hard Cover for the damage flip. At least as far as the rules listed above suggest. Is this correct? RAI: It seems strange that this would be the case as the Attack has already hit the model and cover seems like it should apply at the point of targeting. Now I am aware that RAW vs. RAI, the first should always be given precedence but I wonder if this is an oversight given how unintuitive it feels.
  9. Into the Steam offers optional triggers for magical skills (chosen at ranks 3 and 5 respectively). However, most (all?) Magia have a required trigger built in. So, other than spending a soul stone charge to add a suit, how is your typical mage going to utilize this mechanic? For example, Mind Control (Fated Almanac pg 235) requires a mask and Fray Life (Into the Steam pg 139) requires a ram: how is this character ever getting both suits on the duel total without a soul stone? Thanks!
  10. Hello! I'm trying to break each suit down conceptually. Can anyone help me figure out what type of actions or abilities are associated with each suit when it comes to triggers. For example is Rams associated with offensive triggers while Masks is associated with stealthy triggers? Thanks!
  11. sue has a trigger on his attack that kills totems and peons if they do not discard two soulstones. my question is this i attacked a malifaux child and got the trigger. Since it is a peon can they send soulstones to negate the effects of the attack? My follow up question also is using greed against a similar model, would they be able to spend a soulstone if it was a peon/minion?
  12. Hey guys, So I saw this in a game on Youtube and have been using it ever since. someone used a Watcher to boost Nellie's Evidence buy attacking twice and failing. The only problem is that in the video the watcher always relented and flipped the worst of three cards. I just listened to the Schemes and Stones podcast where they reviewed Nellie and I was then reminded that relenting models cannot declare Triggers. So just to be sure, on the upgrade Guild Funds it adds a trigger not an ability correct? "The Defender may not declare Triggers when,it relents to an Action in this way, however the Attacker may still declare Triggers." Df/Wp () On The Record: After failing, this model gains the Evidence +1 Condition.
  13. Hi all, Following a Twitter conversation I read about trigger timings, the inevitable "Flowchart of timing" comment came up and I thought, why not have a go and make one?! The goal of this piece is to help players (particularly new players) understand when triggers are activated, the importance of the distinction between after damaging and succeeding triggers and create a clear process for timing that all players could follow with regards to abilities found on the front of model's cards. So here is my 1st attempt: Dropbox of the file: https://www.dropbox.com/s/rauapl24yes73p1/Malifaux Trigger Chart.pdf?dl=0 I've included what I think are the relevant FAQ and where they come into effect during the flow. The FAQ answers are on the second page of the dropbox file for reference. It has helped me so far in understanding timing, for example if I want to bring back Huggy with Lynch (via Rising Sun) and I kill a non-brillianced model on 1 wound I would need to use his hold out pistol to kill the enemy model rather than pay for blood, because the pistol has an after damaging trigger while Pay for Blood is after succeeding, which would result in the model getting removed before it got Brilliance. I'd like to hear from the faux community about whether any of this is accurate, what I could refine/improve and what I have that is just plain wrong! One question I have that isn't clearly stated in the FAQ (probably because it is obvious) is that does an after failing/resolving trigger on a defending model not get used if the model is killed during step 5. I don't think it would as the wording would clearly state otherwise. Edit: updated with Bengt comments
  14. We ran into a question that probably has an easy answer, but the rules we found on pg 46 on general timing in the rule book just left us scratching our heads. Rather than misword the question, two examples; 1. Mcmourning Scalpel Slings Zipp, does Zipp places 6" and then Mcmourning pushes into base contact, or does Mcmourning push and then Zipp places 6" away, and out of engagement? 2. Santiago shoots Dead Doxy, she pushes 4", out of range, can he shoot again from his trigger, or does he shoot again, then she pushes out of range? Would she push 8"?
  15. I have some questions about Talent timing conflicts. On the face of it, they seem to be straightforward. From the Rulebook: · If two Triggers would resolve at the same time the Defender’s Trigger is resolved first. · Whenever any Ability happens at the same time as any Triggers, the Triggers are resolved first. · If two Abilities happen at the same time, resolve them in the following order: o 1. The Acting Model resolves its Abilities. o 2. The Defending Model (if there is one) resolves its Abilities. o 3. Any other models controlled by the First Player resolves all of their Ability effects in any order the First Player chooses. o 4. Any other models controlled by the Second Player resolves all of their Ability effects in any order the Second Player chooses. Therefore, this should leave no wiggle room for error. However, what happens in the following cases: 1. What happens if there are more than two models involved? Who is considered the ‘defender’ if both opponents must defend against a Blast/Pulse/Aura and how does the order unfold? 2. What if the trigger is an ‘ability trigger’ (is found in the ability section of the talents) what is it considered for timing resolution? 3. This is the most common conflict I run into. From the rulebook, “Most Abilities grant a passive effect, some of which have their effect when a model suffers damage or is killed.” Triggers are declared on step 4 of a duel and in general resolve immediately unless indicated otherwise, I.e. “After (succeeding, Failing, resolving, damaging)”. Regardless of when they resolve, often they give passive effects. So how do Effects that are Passive gained from either abilities or triggers resolve? Do they, a. “stick” until a new effect supersedes? b. Does the “most Specific” rule come into effect? Pg.19 - In the rare instance that two special rules contradict each other, the more specific of the two rules takes precedence. c. Or does something else happen?
  16. I have simple question. 1) When is result of action resolved? Is it in step 3 of action resolving (m2e rb pg 37) or step 5 of duel resolving (m2e rb pg 33)? Or - less general: 2) What is resolved first - damage or after succeeding/failing/resolving triggers? Thanks in advance.
  17. Hey guys and girls, I'm going to be in a shifting loyalties campaign and I was hoping for some crew suggestions to start with I have Ramos crew, Ironsides and Raspy I was thinking of going with Snow storm, Silent one and 2x Ice gamin for week one. It seemed like a good/fun start. The next model I would get would be December Acolyte since they are too good to pass up. I know my opponents will be Outcast (Leveticus) , Outcast (Von Schill) Guild (Peridta), and maybe Ressers. I named those masters here cause the players have those crews and they are the players favorite masters right now. Any suggestions or ideas would be great. I also had a few questions about blasts and triggers so...Snow Storm's attack Ice tornado damage is 2/3//3 what is the damage of the third blast? My understanding of blast is it works downward from max to min. For example Raspy December's Curse is 2/4/5 so if you get max damage the target takes 5 and first does 4 and the second does 2. My second question is about triggers. How many times can you trigger the same trigger/repeat an attack? Ive noticed on Snow storm has a trigger "Overpower After damaging, immediately take this action again against the same target. This action may not declare triggers". So here only once per action so at most twice per activation (lol I can read )but Raspy as "Biting Chill One thousand Cuts: after damaging, immediately take this action again against the same target" so since it does not have the line "This action may not declare triggers" that means you could in theory you could do it forever right? This was just and easy example Ive noticed this same sort thing on other cards guild, outcast etc and wanted a second opinion. Thanks for the help and ideas I look forward to the responses.
  18. In the sidebar titled general timing (pg 46 in the big book, 51 in the small one) it discusses the timing of passive abilities and triggers, and specifically calls out effects on damage or death. However as most triggers happen after step 5 and damage and death happen during step 5 it seems like a pointless mudding of the waters. So my question is what effects and triggers is this pertaining specifically to? Unless the intention is that after death/damage effects happen after step 5?
  19. Hi all, I'm relatively new to Malifaux (which is awesome by the way) and these forums, so forgive me if there has already been a ruling, I might have missed it in my quick search. After some discussions on other forums we concluded that the general trend of the various rulings about it has been that after a model is killed, if there are any relevant effects that are supposed to happen to that model, you resolve those before removing said model. Two different plays on this interaction: Example 1: Teddy attacks a Fire Gamin -> Fire Gamin is killed and drops a Scrap -> Fire Gamin explodes -> Teddy's Peekaboo Trigger pushes Fire Gamin, and pushes Teddy into base contact -> Fire Gamin is removed. Example 2: If a Ronin kills a model and applied a push effect to itself, and there was nothing keeping the killed model in play, you could remove it and push through the space where it used to be? The FAQ mentions - "After succeeding triggers occur after Step 5 of the Action sequence, so after applying the results of the action." So the result is 'dead model, removed from table' so that occurs in Step 5 and then the push into base contact kicks in - but the base no longer exists so the Ronin example is the only viable option or would the dead model actually block the Ronin's push in that direction? Any assistance would be appreciated!
  20. Hi all, I'd like to know whether actions that are gained from the trigger of an action (specifically in this case the Samurai's Shoulder Gatling attack trigger "Walking Fire") still benefit from any focus that the original action used. References: Walking Fire trigger: After damaging, immediately take this action against a different target. Current Malifaux FAQ doc: 19) Q: Does the damage flip from the Slug Trigger count as part of the original Action? Is it modified by things like the Accuracy Modifier and Focus? A: Yes, Triggers are a part of the Action which caused them and the damage flip from Slug would retain any modifiers to the original flip including Accuracy, Focus, cover, etc. Also from the FAQ: 1) Q: If a model has the Focus +1 Condition, can it remove the Condition at the start of a Charge Action in order to gain the bonus to all Attacks generated by the Charge Action? A: No. It would have to remove the Condition at the start of a single Attack which was generated by Charge and it would only gain the bonus for the duration of that Attack. Other Actions which generate Attack Actions (such as Flurry, Rapid Fire, etc) function in the same way in regards to Focus. So I know it's not okay to use Focus on a Charge action (or Flurry, etc.) to gain focus for each action it generates. Actions generated by actions in this way are clearly not intended to benefit from a single instance of the condition. On the other hand, these are not actions that are generated by triggers, and the wording on the Slug trigger FAQ entry leads me to believe that triggers are still part of the original action, and would still benefit from focus, except that in Slug's case it isn't specifically talking about actions. In short, I can't figure this one out myself; I'm leaning toward not granting the focus to the generated attack action (because triggers like Walking Fire exist, basically, and could cause a lot of trouble with abuse of such a thing), but I'd like to hear other thoughts on it (and be pointed in the direction of any relevant rules, etc. that I have missed). Ta.
  21. Ok I have some questions that I'm failing to find answers to if they've been asked before. Last night was my first Malifaux game in quite some time and it was for the Shifting Loyalties campaign. I started with Old Major, two piglets, a war pig, and a wild boar. This is the first game I've ever put pigs on the table without a gremlin and mistakes were made and questions came up. My first turn was messed up because I believed that the pigs had to charge the enemy front line and couldn't move normally. I basically fed my opponent my crew. So I just want to double check. The charge only happens if the pig has a target in charge range? The stampede trigger came up and I realized that I've never used this before either. I've only ever used pigs as catapult fodder really. Does a pig take disengaging strikes from stampeding?
  22. This came up in a game the other day and I wasn't sure what happens regarding the defensive trigger Sub Zero (After this model suffers damage from a MI attack, immediately end the Attacker's Activation). I took the Sub Zero upgrade and an Ice Gamin was in range of the model that had the upgrade. The Ice Gamin was hit and Sub Zero triggered. The damage flip was made and the Ice Gamin was utterly destroyed in the hit. What happens first; as damage was dealt does Sub Zero mean the attackers activation ends, and then the Ice Gamin dies? Or does that Ice Gamin die and then the trigger can't work? Am I complicating things?
  23. Hi there I am new to the game and have a quick question. If I am flipping for an opposed duel and flip a card that has the required suit to declare a trigger but then I cheat in a card with a higher number but with a different suit, can I still benefit from the trigger? Many Thanks for your help SkullMunch
  24. so, an interesting question arose recently in a game between colette and mei feng. Mei attacked colette with her jackhammer kick, which states "after hitting defender with this weapon, place this model in contact touching the defenders base". however, Colette also got her A Blinding Flash trigger, which is worded as "the model that attacked this model receives slow. switch this model and one other friendly showgirl within 18" " now, besides the general recognition that colette's trigger is awesome, this caused a fairly heated discussion about the timing of each of these actions - colette's swap and mei's placement. colette lost the duel, so mei hits her. this doesnt stop colette from disappearing though, as her trigger does not specify 'after being hit/missed'. so, does mei push into contact as her weapon states (not a trigger, but an inherent ability of her weapon) and then the trigger activates and colette swaps, or, as my opponent argued, do triggers imediately take effect and colette swaps, then the weapon effects occur and mei pushes into contact, effectively chasing her 18" across impassible terrain? interesting dilemma, is there a ruling somewhere about the timing of effects on weapons vs triggers?
  25. So I just started play this last month or so. Starting with Colette’s starter set and 3 doves, just added the coryphées and Angelica as well. It’s been a little hard getting into as I’ve not play any table top games in about 10 years and even then it was War Hammer (also pretty funny going to the games shop and being the only girl out of 20 guys). But I was seduced into playing by my friend Fritz with the words of steam punk and show girls. I am learning my crew slowly. I’ve got to keep an eye on using my triggers with Colette, I keep forgetting and it cost me the last game. I think I’ve won 2 games, lost 2 games and had 2 draws so far. So I looking for advice on how to best use and add to my crew.
×
×
  • Create New...