Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'trigger'.



More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Categories

  • Wyrd News
  • Games
    • Malifaux 2E
    • Through the Breach
    • Puppet Wars Unstitched
    • Evil Baby Orphanage
    • Jetpack Unicorn
    • Showdown
    • Kings of Artifice

Forums

  • Forum News & Rules
    • Wyrd Announcements
    • Wyrd Board Help and Code of Conduct
    • Community Events
    • Wyrd Events
  • Discussions and Interests
    • News, Reviews, & Discussion
    • The Hobby Room
  • Malifaux
    • Faction Discussion
    • Malifaux Discussion
    • Malifaux Rules Discussion
    • M3E OPEN BETA
  • Through the Breach
    • TTB Discussion
    • Player Creations
    • [Campaign] - The Obsidian Gate
  • The Other Side
    • TOS - Allegiances
    • TOS - Discussion
    • The Other Side Rules Discussion
  • Other Games
    • Board Games
  • Super Secret Forum
  • The131's Upcoming events

Blogs

There are no results to display.

There are no results to display.


Find results in...

Find results that contain...


Date Created

  • Start

    End


Last Updated

  • Start

    End


Filter by number of...

Joined

  • Start

    End


Group


Website URL


Skype


Location


Interests


Biography:


Location:

Found 25 results

  1. Can I resolve additional attack, that was generated by trigger "After damaging, immediately take this Action again against the same target." against model, whose health was dropped to 0 by the initial attack?
  2. Dear friends! We know, that the Df triggers resolve before Attacking model's triggers. And we know, that model removes from the game after "after damaging" attacking triggers. So, can we resolve Df trigger before removing a model, if this model died during the attack?
  3. War Pig charges First Mate, uses Bowled Over trigger to push First Mate then push into Base Contact. Pounce is worded "When an enemy model ends a push or move within this model's engagement range that is not part of a Walk or Charge Action." Does the First Mate get to trigger pounce? Is the attack generated by a charge part of a "Charge Action"? I've tried looking this up elsewhere and I can't find anything definitely saying that attacks generated by charge are part of the charge action or not.
  4. Hi there, title is program. Ich rougarou uses his tactical action "challenge the alpha" all Models will be pushed towards himself. Does "pounce" trigger and resolved immediatly against all targets they were pushed. In the case of crows rpugarou can trigger "on the hinter". So it has another placement and has perhaps other targets dir pounce? Or will the trigger resolved afterwardS
  5. Upon researching this I'm little confused. Apparently "dept to the guild" does increase blast damage... Anyways. critical strikes are wordes so that only the target get bonus damage. Yasunori has the (0) action Kodoku which forces as minion to perform an attack and the attack gains the following trigger "Wrath of the heavens: If this attack deals damage, this attack deals +1 damage for every VP the target's Crew has, to a maximum of +3". Now, Dawn serpent is a minion with Ca attack "Breathe fire": 2/3/4 Do Dawn serpent's Breathe fire blast markers benefit from Yasunori's "wrath of the heavens"?
  6. Both piglets and War Pigs have a stipulation in their Gore/Tusks attack that this attack must declare a trigger if able. Their Tome Trigger "Grab On" is replicated in full as follows: The first sentence is very straightforward, there are tons of triggers like it. "If you deal damage, you also apply slow." And, conversely, "If you don't deal damage, nothing extra happens." However, the second sentence is proving problematic for the Rules Lawyer in me. It does not state when it occurs. One could assume this means it shares the first sentences "After Damaging" condition meaning that if you miss with the attack, you do not end your activation. The additional "After damaging" was probably cut to save space on the card. However, I'm not a huge fan of assumptions, especially when there's an alternative more literal reading. "After Damaging, Deal slow." And then a separate "End this model's Activation." If space was a concern, simply replacing the . with an And would have sufficed. The only other model I'm aware of with a similar trigger is Gracie, who on a crow has a trigger reading Which really is no help at all in this circumstance, as it specifies the timing. So, to summarize: If I activate a piglet, and spend their first AP on an attack action, which flips a tome and misses, do I get a 2nd AP? (And theoretical 0 action) Or, in a more interesting scenario, if a Piglet attacks a master attempting to apply slow, and the master uses a Soulstone to prevent all damage (And thus, the "after damaging" stipulation is not met and no slow is applied), does the piglet's activation end?
  7. my question is how does ending activation triggers/abilities when doing an out activation action generated by something like hunting bow. if I have shot my gracie up the rear and she keeps charging until she fails to kill and I hit the crow trigger what happens? because it is not her activation and the trigger says end this models activation? separately can I eat my fill? how does that work? I assume I don't just keep charging as its not my activation. of note unlike obey you can still declare triggers with hunting bow which is part of the balance I believe.
  8. Had a situation come up in a game last night, and was curious to see if we played it out correctly. Jack Daw attacked Colette with "Suppressed Memories" and won the duel. Colette declared the "Now You See Me..." trigger and Jack Daw declared the "The Ghost of Malifaux" trigger. Because both triggers are based on damage, the rule book says the defender resolves the trigger first. "Now You See Me..." reduces the damage suffered to zero. Does Daw get to resolve his trigger effect? We ended up deciding that because Colette's trigger reduced the damage to 0, Daw's attack no longer dealt damage at the time his trigger resolved, so he would not be able to place. Is that the correct timing interaction?
  9. It says in the rule book that as soon as a model is reduced to 0 wounds, it is dead and removed. So a trigger that says "after damaging, push this model 4" in any direction" is that push then happening after the target has been killed and removed, and therefore the push can be into/past the spot the target occupied?
  10. If a model spends focus for an attack that generates another attack, does the trigger attack gain the benefits of focus? The actions causing actions call out box on page 38 of the big rule book states 'the original action is not considered resolved until the new actions are also resolved' Thank you for your time and consideration.
  11. From page 10 of the faq document: 20) Q: Does the damage flip from the Slug Trigger count as part of the original Action? Is it modified by things like the Accuracy Modifier and Focus? A: Yes, Triggers are a part of the Action which caused them and the damage flip from Slug would retain any modifiers to the original flip including Accuracy, Focus, cover, etc. Does it means that, if a model have a focus condition and declare a trigger that let it make the attack again, it benefits from focus also on the second attack?
  12. I have two questions about the leaders in the starter set, both concerning movement. First question) So Doc has a tactical action, "Doctor's Orders" that allows him to target a friendly model within range and Move that model up to 4 inches. So it doesn't say "other friendly model" which I would interpret allows him to target himself correct? which with a charge of 7" would allow him to 'Move 4' (even around a corner or two) and then make a charge of 7" as swing at something 2" away; effectively giving him a threat range of 13, (with a charge) Second question) Angel Eyes has a trigger, Hide in Shadow: after succeeding move this model up to 3" So does this trigger a disengaging strike? unless the opposing model is a friendly model or paralyzed or doesn't have an engagement range I would not think so because the rules say. "Only Walk Actions provoke disengaging strikes, any other type of move or push will not." so as I interpret the rules I see this walk as a walk trigger not a walk action, am I correct?
  13. There are several Triggers that give the Conditions, (dare I say the majority... at least a large percentage) either to a targeted model or models withing a or. A typical formula for triggers that you might see would read like so: An action (either tactical or an attack) (1) Name of action (stat #/ TN:# /Rst: Stat / Rg: #): Some actions have built in suits and/or suit requirements in the TN, i.e. Some Actions will have additional symbols that modify the action i.e. And then the Trigger(s) Name of trigger: description of Trigger effect My question, are the 'effects' of conditions linked or dependents of the condition or the trigger? Conditions have specific rules and instructions for each condition but some triggers have additional "effects" that seem based on the condition not the trigger. e.g. Name of trigger: After succeeding friendly models within 2 gains the slow condition. Models that gains the slow condition may make a 1/2/4 heal flip Name of trigger: All enemy models within 4 must take a TN:12 Horror Duel (Then Paralyze or Immunity would be based on the Horror Duel not the trigger) The syntax seems to read: Trigger-->effect-->Condition-->condition effect So this might present some problems when there are models, for a lack of a better term, "linked' via Personal Puppet, Sewn Fate/Hem, Same Oppressive/Malignant Force. when models are "linked" (please forgive the oversimplification of the mechanic) and one model gains a condition, so does its counterpart. But does its counterpart also resolve the additional condition effects. e.g. Sloth targets a friendly Lelu with Resting in the Blue: (Target friendly model within 6" gain Slow, model heals 3 damage if they gain the Slow condition from this action.) So, thankfully there is no contention because of Lelu's ability Same Oppressive Force (When this model heals damage which it had suffered from a source other than SMF ability, any friendly Lilitu heals the same amount of damage...) however, in other situations would the linked model share the condition effects of the trigger if the two models share all conditions gained? But what about models that pass a Horror Duel, would the linked model gain immunity? HD are tricky because they are not conditions but rather a unique mechanic specifically a duel which either gives a model the Paralyzed condition or immunity from horror duels made from the specific model that turn. Below I have attached what I have found in the rules and on other threads but I am still unclear to how condition effects and triggers interact.
  14. Hey everybody, I have a question about the specific timings of abilities when they are nested within an Obey command. The Actions Causing Actions box (p. 38) states that "The original Action is not considered resolved until the new Actions are also resolved." This lead me to three questions: 1. If I use Obey on a model with Finish the Job, do I place the marker from that Ability if the target dies as a result of that action? For instance, Zoraida obeys a death Marshall to hit Bishop, cheats down the attack, triggers Bishop's Df trigger which kills the Death Marshall. Finish the Job then activates... who gets that scheme marker? The Placing Scheme Markers box (p. 39) states that "This Scheme Marker is always considered friendly to the crew of the model that placed it, regardless of who controlled the Interact Action." but only mentions (1) Interact Actions, so I would there assume that the marker would always belong to the model with Finish the Job. Obviously(?!?!) 2. Let's say I use Obey on an enemy model, and order them to Attack Brewmaster. I then Soulstone & Cheat the result such that his Df Trigger occurs. That trigger states that "After an Attack Action fails against this model, the Attacker's controller places the Attacking model anywhere in its deployment zone.". Would I, as the current "Attacker's controller", then place that enemy model in its' deployment zone? This is clearly worded, and since Obey isn't resolved until the new Actions are also resolved I would assume that you would resolve the trigger as part of the Action. I also double checked to see whether Triggers are always considered part of the Action according to the rules and FAQ. Plainly put: DO I GET PLACE TO THEIR MODEL INTO A DITCH, ON TOP OF A BUILDING, IN A TREE, AT THE FAR CORNER... AND THAT'S IN THE RULES? 3. Finally, regarding the proper timing of certain Ability types without a specified timing on the card. The Ability on Governor's Proxy states simply that "A model that kills this model with an Attack Action must succeed on a Wp 13 duel or be killed.". Now does this mean that if I Obey something to Attack and kill the Governor's Proxy, do I resolve that Governor's Proxy Ability as the Obeying player, as it is happening within the Obey Action? The FAQ (Q.15, 2) mentions timings, and states that "when the model is killed, which would be during Step 5 of the duel process (Determine Success, Core Rulebook pg. 33)". Since Step 5 is still a part of the Action, Obey will not yet resolve since "The original Action is not considered resolved until the new Actions are also resolved." meaning that you get to automatically kill a model with that 'orribly slow Governor's Proxy? Thank you for your feedback! Sorry this was so long and dense, I've had a lot of conversations in my local scene about this stuff and there is no consensus.
  15. Had a situation tonight which confused me and an opponent regarding a Bayou Gremlin's Whoops, Ricochet trigger going off. I read that models can see in any direction at any time. The Gremlin in question was within LOS to 3 friendly models, depending on how you say he was facing. Obviously he's shooting a particular direction - is that what you use to determine what model is in LOS for the Whoops, Ricochet? Or are any of the three models fair game? (Two were beside him, one a little above, one a little below, with Somer quite far above him, call it North, but still within range.) For purposes of our intro game I thought the most logical course was for Somer to be the friendly target, as he was in the direction I'd been trying ot get the Gremlin to fire. But I wanted to see how it is supposed to actually play out for future reference. Thanks in advance for any help!
  16. Sloth has a Df trigger, Just Lay Down, saying: "After this models fails, the Attacker immediately ends its Activation." As excited I was to never get hurt if I had a low Crow on my hand, this trigger happens AFTER Sloth is damaged by the attack but before the Attacker's Trigger happens, correct? So a big punishing focussed shot will stil do its damage before Sloth can end the Attacker's activation?
  17. Machine puppet says: ...construct takes a (1) action which CANNNOT DECLARE TRIGGERS. So does that mean the Hunter can't use its built-in trigger "drag" to pull a model 8" when chain-harpooning? It's still great to use machine puppet for this, but a real shame if it can't drag Thanks guys
  18. This came up in a game a few days ago. My opponent hit an incorporeal model with a blast form a SH action and stated it takes full damage, I countered with the fact that it is from an SH action. Incorporeal reduces all damage this model suffers from an SH and MI action by half, so he relented. Later he had a model, Steam Arachnid, trigger overheat off of it MI action which causes all models with in 2 to suffer 2 damage after resolving. Once again, he clamed it ignore incorporeal as it is not MI damage. Note overheat is not a separate action. Reading the cards I believe that overheat and triggers similar to it as well as blasts are still part of their parent actions and would be half by incorporeal if the parent action is. What does everyone else think?
  19. I am quite confused on how is the timing supposed to work with abilities and triggers that are resolved when model dies and with dying in general. 1: Do abilities and triggers that happen when model dies and after model dies happen at the same time? (Think explosive demise and Snow Storm's Gorge trigger for example.) 2: Are after model is killed triggers resolve before/after/at the same time when after damaging triggers? 3: What about after failing/succeeding/resolving triggers? 4: What happens when model is killed (reduced to 0 wounds) before it's own action is resolved? Does the action still get resolved normally? (Think attacking model taking damage from Lynch's defensive trigger and also triggering something that is resolved after damaging like overpower.) 5: Are triggers/abilities that happen when/after model is reduced to 0 wounds resolved before/after/at the same time as when/after killed triggers/abilities. Bonus question: The defensive triggers that all Riders have, do you apply the reduction twice against attacks caused by overpower and similar triggers? I would really appreciate if your answers included the word 'because'.
  20. I was looking to rules, if model have to use the trigger when it declares the trigger. Maybe this is theoretical situation (dont know all triggers) But lest say: Cassandra is attacking Target. Cassi has trigger "After damaging push this model up to 4" This one is real Target has trigger - "After failing, make 2" pulse and all models take 3 dmg" Both announce the triiger - defender first because has lower total. Cassandra wounds the Target. Both triggers would go in same moment, but attacker's trigger is resolved first. So Cassi is pushed out of the reach of the Target's trigger range. And because the Target cannot hurt Cassi and it would hurt some other friedly model, it would like to not use the announced trigger. So question is - Have a model to use the trigger when declare it? I would say yes - it announce that is going to use the trigger. But in rules it is not clearly written. Here is part from p.16 Compare the models’ Duel Totals. First, the model with the lowest total, or the Defender if the totals are tied, may Declare it is using a Trigger if its Duel Total meets a Trigger’s suit requirement Next, the other model may announce it is using a Trigger if it meets the Trigger’s requirements. A Trigger’s effect is resolved immediately unless another time is indicated in its description, as it may be resolved later.
  21. I have a question about Sybelle's With a Flourish trigger she gets with the Bleeding Tongue upgrade. It makes the model she damaged discard either two cards or two Soulstones, or it dies immediately. In my last game Sybelle got this trigger when damaging my Flesh Construct. I only had one card left in my hand, so discarding two cards was not an option. I wanted to discard two SS then, but my opponent said I couldn't do that because Flesh Construct can't use Soulstones. My question is: does a model have to be normally able to use Soulstones to opt for discarding 2 SS in this situation? And in general, does a model have to be normally able to use SS to be able to discard SS?
  22. "DF ©Cage Fighter: After an Ml attack fails against this model, this model deals damage 1/2/4 to the Attacker." I have one question about this ability: is this always a straight flip for damage?
  23. Hi there I am new to the game and have a quick question. If I am flipping for an opposed duel and flip a card that has the required suit to declare a trigger but then I cheat in a card with a higher number but with a different suit, can I still benefit from the trigger? Many Thanks for your help SkullMunch
  24. The wording of this trigger could use some clarification: After resolving this spell (Push models within 3" losing their Resist Duels up to 3" directly away from the model), immediately perform a Jackhammer Kick Strike targeting one of the models that lost its Resist Duel. Should the words "in range" be in this sentence?
  25. Are triggers considered traits for purposes of Zorida's Hex spell? Can she actually remove a model's trigger for the duration of a game?! ---------- Post added at 11:47 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:06 AM ---------- I meant to say 'talents' not traits as Z's hex spell reads " ...loses 1 talent or spell..."
×
×
  • Create New...