Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'engagement'.

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Categories

  • Wyrd News
  • Games
    • Malifaux 2E
    • Through the Breach
    • Puppet Wars Unstitched
    • Evil Baby Orphanage
    • Jetpack Unicorn
    • Showdown
    • Kings of Artifice

Forums

  • Forum News & Rules
    • Wyrd Announcements
    • Wyrd Board Help and Code of Conduct
    • Community Events
    • Wyrd Events
  • Discussions and Interests
    • News, Reviews, & Discussion
    • The Hobby Room
    • Wyrd Apps
  • Malifaux
    • Faction Discussion
    • Malifaux Discussion
    • Malifaux Rules Discussion
  • Through the Breach
    • TTB Discussion
    • Player Creations
  • The Other Side
    • TOS - Allegiances
    • TOS - Discussion
    • The Other Side Rules Discussion
  • Board Games
    • Vagrantsong
    • Bayou Bash
    • Other Games
  • Super Secret Forum

Find results in...

Find results that contain...


Date Created

  • Start

    End


Last Updated

  • Start

    End


Filter by number of...

Joined

  • Start

    End


Group


Website URL


Skype


Location


Interests


Biography:


Location:

Found 16 results

  1. Hi wyrdos! I wanna know how can I advantage of the frenzied charge because we can't charge from an engagement? I wanna know it because I use kentauroi and goryo who both have that ability. In the same way, can the stampede abilities from the kentauroi be use more than once by turn double by frenzied charge. I have some doubt that the answer of the frenzied charge will answer the stampede one but I wanna know if not Ty in advance 😁
  2. I need help with a couple of questions about the rules that I'm unclear on. Mainly engagements and shooting/casting attacks. 1.) Do you randomly determine the engaged model you are shooting at ONLY if the attack used has the Projectile Symbol? (The tiny gun symbol next to range) or do you do it for ALL attacks even if the range does not have the symbol? 2.) While engaged with an enemy is it possible to use a SH or CA action that has a range but no projectile icon? If you need me to clarify I can maybe try and give an example. Thanks in advance!
  3. Hello guys, can someone explain briefly how terrain levels vs CC engagement works? If we have two models where one is standing on the terrain and the other right beneath and: 1. terrain is 2" and model beneath has HT2 and 3" engagement. 2. terrain is 2" and model beneath has HT3 and 1" engagement. In which situation model can attack the one standing on top and how far can it be placed from the edge?
  4. Hello folks, so yesterday we had a pretty intense, long and exhausting game and there were some questions that came up, we couldn't answer or were to tired to resolve. I will post the situation and after that what i think the resolution would be. Situation 1: Engagement A War Pig is within 3'' of "The Thorn" which has a melee attack of 3''. The War Pig has a attack of 1'' but is further away than this 1''. Question: What is the War Pig allowed to do? And may it even charge "The Thorn"? Resolution: The War Pig is engaged with the Thorn, but cannot attack "The Thorn". Still both count as "engaged" and the War Pig is not allowed to take the Charge Action against this model. It can walk towards Thorn and take a melee Action, as it doesnt leave the engagement. It may use a disengaging stike to walk away and charge her than (given all other factors allow it). Situation 2: Charging A Piglet is forced to charge as an action, because Ulix was killed by a charge of that Piglet with its first AP. The Piglet then chooses to charge a model that is about 7'' away. With the 1''left to charge, the liglet decides to go the extra 1'' to land directly beneath her target (on the right side) allowing the piglet to "bind" another model, that is now directly in front of it. Question: Is the piglet allowed to do so? Resolution: The piglet is allowed to do so, because it is still charging in a straight line and ends its activation within melee range of her original target, fulfilling all necessary requirements. Situation 3: Drawing LoS A HT2 Model wants to cast a a Height 1 model. In the middle between them there is another HT1/2/3 model. No Line of sight can be drawn, without crossing the one model in the model. There is no elevation and it all is happening on normal ground (HT0). Question: When is it possible for the HT2 modle to take any action that requires LoS? Resolution: In no case there is such an option, because there cannot be drawn a LoS between the activated model and its target without crossing the other models base, no matter its HT, because the rules state, that those Lines are drawn from a "top down" view. Thanks for the help and i hope we resolved it correctly.
  5. had a great interaction that had me scratching my head.... so i asked the local rules people, and it got some more heads scratching they said post it here, hope for an official response... so here it is.... Question: terrifying says if u end a walk within engagement range take a horror test, does not mention los.... so do u need los? Reason I'm Asking: according to faq / errata: Q: If two models are engaged, and one of them wishes to take a Walk Action which will result in it no longer being in LoS of the model it is engaged with (without actually leaving the engagement range) will this provoke a disengaging strike? A: No. Disengaging strikes only occur if the model intends to leave the engagement range. Although the models will no longer be engaged once their LoS to each other is broken, no disengaging strike occurs unless the model is also leaving the engagement range. so you can walk out of los to break engagement as long as you stay in engagement range.... so if you break los while staying in engagement range of a terrifying model, you are no longer engaged, but you should have to take a terrifying duel because you are still in engagement range..... right? Here Is What Happened: firestarter (has flying 5" move) is on the ground, in a square building with a roof, teddy blocking the doorway, engaged.... hungering darkness behind teddy with los on firestarter also engaged.... firestarter with 1 wound, wants to leave without disengaging strikes, or taking a terrifying test, so flies (ignoring models and terrain) past teddy and huggy, out of the building, up and over a 5" wall, and lands inside a building on a step so it is still within his move range because vertical movement was only 1", top down view movement was 4", he is now outside of los of everyone, but did not break engagement range, so no disengaging strikes.... terrifying says if u end a walk within engagement range take a horror test, does not mention los.... well the firestarter ended the walk still within engagement range, but with no los, as required by the faq/errata.... so take a terrifying?
  6. Hello. My model has a 3'' range. Enemy model has 1'' engagement range and is 2.5 '' away from my model. In this case both models are considered engaged and cannot interact, charge and make attacks? The only advantage of my model is that it can attack, and the enemy modell will have to walk to attack, right? Second question: if my model cannot attack (Commands in Wind upgrade, for example), is it still considered engaged if enemy model is within its range or vice versa? I think that it only cannot make disengaging strikes, so engaged models can go away from it if they want, but they still cannot interact, charge or , right? Same question for Amina Naidu's abilities: If an engaged enemy model has Liability or Inchoate Rage, my model can walk away from it without a disengaging strike, but cannot interact, or charge, right?
  7. So I found myself quoting old errata and was corrected last night during a game? I seem to remember reading a FAQ that clarified engagement range after a model gained paralyze. I could bet money that it read, "if a model gains the paralyzed condition then its engagement range is reduced to '0'. ~~~if the model is in base to base contact with an enemy model then it would still provoke a disengaging strike." So I can't find this anywhere in the FAQ or Errata. Has it been re-re-errata'ed? The only thing I found was an errata on Pg. 52: This seems to contradict the FAQ that disappeared, did this happen or am I just remembering?
  8. So how does Elevation affect Engagement Range. I have listed a couple example scenarios below according to how I think the rules read but I would love reassurance in case I have misinterpreted anything. There are a few things to define first before delving into my examples. Opposed Duels LoS Terrain Height Measurement Elevation Opposed Duels: The Three Opposed Duels I'm familiar with are Melee (Ml), Shoot (Sh) and Cast (Ca). In Malifaux there isn't a distinction between Ranged attacks and Melee Attacks. Rather, all Sh, Ca and Ml Attack Actions have range association for each attack and require LoS Line of Sight: All Ml attack actions must have LoS or else they cannot legally be t Terrain traits: Most Terrain Traits only affect Sh Attack Actions. Ml Attacks while requiring LoS are not affected by fate modifying Terrain Traits like hard cover, and soft cover but still must abide by traits like blocking and dense otherwise melee would ignore things like intervening walls. Height: the Ht mechanic restricts LoS when there is an intervening Model or piece of Terrain that has the same Ht or greater than the tallest model, (either Attacking or the Target model.) This is not true when Vantage Point mechanics are in effect. Measurement: So in Malifaux there seems to be the golden rule of always measuring from the top down: In Addition, Malifaux seems to hold to the "Sticky" Rule, where if something is exactly then it is legal, takes effect, succeeds, happens, or just is. So if a model is Exactly 2" away and has a 2" melee, then it is considered engaged: (on a side note this is why I believe that a Ht:2 model cannot squeeze under a Ht:2 doorway) Elevation: So instead of strictly adhering to the Golden Rule(Top Down), measurements take the elevation difference into account. So below are my examples, please let me know if they are correct. A Ht:2 model is behind a Ht:2 fence, there is a Ht:2 enemy model on the other side of the fence. The models are 1" apart. Model-A has a 2" . The models are not engaged because neither can draw LoS due to the intervening fence. A Ht:3 model is behind a Ht:2 fence, there is a Ht:1 enemy model on the other side of the fence. The models are 1" apart. Model-A has a 2" . Models are engaged because the Ht:3 model is taller than the intervening fence A Ht:3 model is behind a Ht:2 fence, there is a Ht:1 enemy model on the other side of the fence. The models are exactly 2" apart. Model-A has a 2" . Models are engaged because model-A's engagement range is 2" and each model is exactly 2" away which is within range A Ht:2 Lilitu is in Base Contact with a Ht:4 Building. There is a Ht:1 Mechanical Dove in base contact of the ledge of the building. Models are engaged because Lilitu engagement range is 4" and each model is exactly 4" away (though measured vertically) A Ht:4 Chompy Bits is 1" away from a Ht:3 Building. There is a Ht:2 Young Nephilim, 2" from the ledge of the building. Models are engaged because Chompy Bits has a Ht Greater than the elevation difference so measuring from the top-down, models are 3" apart, which is within Chompy Bits 3" engagement range A Ht:2 Young Nephilim is 1" away from a Ht:3 Building. There is a Ht:2 Young Nephilim, 2" from the ledge of the building. Models are NOT engaged because the Young Nephilim (the lower model) may not ignore terrain differences and is effectively 5" away from the Young Nephilim on the building. the Ht:2 Young Nephilim atop the building measures from the top-down as is effectively 3" away, still outside his engagement range. A Ht:4 Chompy Bits is in Base Contact with a Ht:3 Building. There is a Ht:1 Mechanical Dove 2" away from the edge of the building. The models are NOT engaged. Chompy Bits is within his engagement Range however the mechanical dove is not within his Ht distance away from the edge and because of Vantage Point mechanics now cannot ignore the ledge and cannot draw LoS
  9. Isolated or codependent mechanics? So I have never had any difficulty when determining melee range and whether I could legally make an attack. usually with engagement ranges typically being 1"-2" its rare that conditions or restrictions would intervene the engaged models and cause problems. However, there are some cases that arise which I would love to clarify. The relationship of Melee range and Engagement is somewhat ambiguous. Is engagement an individual mechanic and wholly distinct unto itself, or is it one of the many attributes of melee and just a slick term of being within range of close melee. The idiosyncrasy of engagement is that it acts like a condition, (but is not a condition to be clear) for the purposed of determining things like: disengaging strikes, shooting into engagement, interact action limitations. On the other hand engagement seems dependent on melee and simple a quality of melee, nothing more. This being important because I cannot find melee restrictions or conditions in the rules, at least not in the clarity that shooting and casting rules and restrictions have. it's odd that I cannot find something to the effect of, "A model may make a melee attack action if: X,Y,Z" Thankfully I don't see a malfunction in the rules that would need the clarification but the question still stands, Can a model make a melee attack action if: The model is within it's range The model is engaged So one possible logic loops might be: A.) Models have engagement range equal to their longest range Close (y) Attack B.) Model A cannot place a scheme marker because he is engaged with enemy Model B C.) However, Model B becomes Paralyzed which paralyzed models cannot engage enemy models, (unless in base to base contact with an enemy as per question 25 in the FAQ's ) ~.) Can Model A now place a scheme marker? Yes, Model B has been paralyzed and can no longer engage Model A No, Model B has an engagement of 0" but Model A is still within his close range and therefore is still engaged because engagement "goes both ways"
  10. Hello All, I have been reading the rules and FAQ's and I think they are fairly clear on this topic but I wanted to ask the community and see what they think and if there is anything else that I am missing. So if two models are engaged there are several ways of breaking engagement without walking and risking a successful Disengaging Strike. to list a few there are, Push, Lure, Paralyze the opponent model, and others. But here is one that caught my eye and sounds like a fun one that I have to keep wary of. In the rules it says both models are considered engaged if one or more of them are within their melee range AND line of site. LoS is the big one, the FAQ's talk about a model walking around a corner to break LoS while staying in the opponents melee bubble. This according to the FAQ's will break engagement. So here's the Rules Lawyer in me coming out. Do walls bread the 2" melee bubble. I would not think so because of how the FAQ's worded their similar example. if not, than any model with incorporeal could walk through a wall as long as the melee range encapsulated the wall which was walked through. but if the melee range stops at the wall than that might be considered as breaking engagement and the opponent would be able to take a Disengaging Strike. What do you guys think? I have illustrated my example below. Please feel free to ask any questions if I have left anything ambiguous.
  11. I was wondering about the mechanics of the interaction of the Doppelganger and useless duplications. She can't be shot while engaged, useless duplications treats her as engaged if she was to be shot at, randomising for models within 2, even if they are all friendly. So does that mean, if I have a doppelganger next to a friendly model, miles away from any enemy models, and the Doppelganger gets shot at, the other model will always be the target? Edit: I'm sorry if this is posted in the wrong place
  12. Doppleganger's action which allows to copy another's model action says: "For the remainder of this Activation, this model may take the selected Action as if it were printed on this model's card." Doppleganger's base engagement range is 1". Now, here's the theoretical situation: Doppleganger stands 2" from hoarcat pride and 8" from rail golem. If Doppleganger copies the rail golem attack (which has engagement range of 2"), does it become engaged with hoarcat, thus becoming unable to charge the rail golem? And if the hoarcat wasn't there - where does the doppleganger need to finish a charge - within 1" or 2" from the rail golem (charge action says you need to finish the charge within your engagement range of the target model). My assumption is that I treat the action as if it were printed on my card for all purposes (so no charging if I'm within 2" of an enemy model), but the rule as written states I only treat it as printed when I want to take that action.
  13. Ca actions can be taken against models engaged 10” away (for example), with no randomization, correct? What if the casting model herself, is engaged with model X but wants to target model Y who is not engaged, can she target model Y with a Ca action? (For instance Collodi or Nicodem could be the Casting model.)
  14. A friendly model A is base to base with enemy model B. A fails a horror duel caused by an effect outside of its activation, becoming Paralyzed, reducing the range of its attacks to 0 and "not engaging" per the rulebook definition of Paralyzed. A gets Obeyed to attack B with a Attack, since the requirement to make the attack is in fact being in range of the attack, not being in engagement. Base to base is 0", so the model is still in range for the Close Attack, but will obviously not make disengaging strikes since it is prohibited from engaging. Is there a flaw in this logic I'm missing or is this valid / intended?
  15. This is a simple question, I think I know the answer but I want to make sure I have it right. So I have two models, for simplicity's sake lets say it is the Hunter and Guardian. Hunter is in Base to Base with GuardianEnd of turn, the Hunter uses its ability to push 3 inches away from the Guardian (in this case directly away).Guardian is has 3 inches meleeAfter the Hunter pushes is he still within the Guardian's 3 inch melee?
  16. This came up in a game tonight. Lilith, who has the Living Blade upgrade (Ml range increased to 3"), is in base to base with Fuhatsu. Fuhatsu performs his Madman with a Gatling Gun action; Lilith fails the WP duel, and is pushed 3" away from Fuhatsu. So the question we had was whether Lilith and Fuhatsu were still engaged? Could Fuhatsu shoot? Did Lilith need to charge in order to attack him, or could she stand there and swing? Thanks in advance.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information