Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'charge'.



More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Categories

  • Wyrd News
  • Games
    • Malifaux 2E
    • Through the Breach
    • Puppet Wars Unstitched
    • Evil Baby Orphanage
    • Jetpack Unicorn
    • Showdown
    • Kings of Artifice

Forums

  • Forum News & Rules
    • Wyrd Announcements
    • Wyrd Board Help and Code of Conduct
    • Community Events
    • Wyrd Events
  • Discussions and Interests
    • News, Reviews, & Discussion
    • The Hobby Room
  • Malifaux
    • Faction Discussion
    • Malifaux Discussion
    • Malifaux Rules Discussion
  • Through the Breach
    • TTB Discussion
    • Player Creations
  • The Other Side
    • TOS - Allegiances
    • TOS - Discussion
    • The Other Side Rules Discussion
  • Other Games
    • Board Games
  • Super Secret Forum
  • The131's Upcoming events

Blogs

There are no results to display.

There are no results to display.


Find results in...

Find results that contain...


Date Created

  • Start

    End


Last Updated

  • Start

    End


Filter by number of...

Joined

  • Start

    End


Group


Website URL


Skype


Location


Interests


Biography:


Location:

Found 28 results

  1. I had a discussion with a friend about the wording and effects regarding charges made into hazardous terrain. Option A, the move and attack actions count as separate actions. (the charging model takes one damage for the move aspect of the charge, and after attacking it takes another damage) Option B, taking a "Charge action" involves both the movement aspect and attack aspect of the text, and the action itself isn't completed until after the attack is made (so it would only take one damage) We've discussed it, but figured it wouldn't hurt to get a general consensus for it.
  2. Hi wyrdos! I wanna know how can I advantage of the frenzied charge because we can't charge from an engagement? I wanna know it because I use kentauroi and goryo who both have that ability. In the same way, can the stampede abilities from the kentauroi be use more than once by turn double by frenzied charge. I have some doubt that the answer of the frenzied charge will answer the stampede one but I wanna know if not Ty in advance 😁
  3. Hello guys just searching for a precision on the "charge" action. So me and my friend were playing and I declared a charge with Tealor to be able to utilise the bonus 2" from her ability "Rush". My friend didn't think I had the right to do this (like in M2E) but nowhere in the new rulebook I'm reading that I need a LOS or declaring a model so: 1-Am I right to do that without declaring any other model (friendly or ennemy)? 2- When declaring the charge action, do I need to push the model in a straight line trought the other models or I can decide wich way I want My charge to go? If not How the ability "run and gun" from the bandit keywords works? With Bandit can I Charge away from a model to be able to shoot and reposition my self in a better place? Thanks in advance From I little bit confuse Wyrdos
  4. Jack Daw has a curse upgrade called "Firing squad injustice". The relevant part of it says the following "When this models declares an Attack Action it suffers 2 damage which may not be reduced". In a recent game Jack Daw had attached this upgrade to Lady Justice. She used her Tactical Action "Acrobatic assault" from the Swordfighter upgrade. The relevant part of it says "Place this model within 4" of its current location, then take a (1) MI Attack Action against a target in range." So, in this situation, has Lady Justice declared an attack action? She takes an attack action, but is that the same thing as declaring it? The action she declares which lets her take the attack action is listed as a Tactical action. Or is it considered that the Acrobatic assault tactical action generates an attack action which must then in turn be declared as well? Would it be any different if she used a "Charge" action? It is also a Tactical action which generates attack actions.
  5. Hey guys, Yesterday I had a situation with charge from elavation. So how it should be resolved in general? Does it work the same way as model climbing during charge? So the model need to go down and then go straight forward to its target? The picture from my situation is in attached files. So Sybelle (marked red) would like to charge Belle (marked blue). If she should go down at first and go straight after, it is impossible, because she has to step on Necropunk (marked green). Let's consider that the only one straight way to Belle is to go through Necropunk. Can she charge Belle or not?
  6. War Pig charges First Mate, uses Bowled Over trigger to push First Mate then push into Base Contact. Pounce is worded "When an enemy model ends a push or move within this model's engagement range that is not part of a Walk or Charge Action." Does the First Mate get to trigger pounce? Is the attack generated by a charge part of a "Charge Action"? I've tried looking this up elsewhere and I can't find anything definitely saying that attacks generated by charge are part of the charge action or not.
  7. I was going back through Somer's upgrades today and landed on Encouragement. It has the following: Rock to the Head: When declaring an Action, other friendly gremlin models within 8 may suffer 1 damage to gain a to any duels resulting from the Action. If this gets used when declaring a charge, do both resulting attacks get the bonus? Previously I would have assumed no, but in light of the Leveticus Channel ruling I'm thinking Yes now.
  8. Hello folks, so yesterday we had a pretty intense, long and exhausting game and there were some questions that came up, we couldn't answer or were to tired to resolve. I will post the situation and after that what i think the resolution would be. Situation 1: Engagement A War Pig is within 3'' of "The Thorn" which has a melee attack of 3''. The War Pig has a attack of 1'' but is further away than this 1''. Question: What is the War Pig allowed to do? And may it even charge "The Thorn"? Resolution: The War Pig is engaged with the Thorn, but cannot attack "The Thorn". Still both count as "engaged" and the War Pig is not allowed to take the Charge Action against this model. It can walk towards Thorn and take a melee Action, as it doesnt leave the engagement. It may use a disengaging stike to walk away and charge her than (given all other factors allow it). Situation 2: Charging A Piglet is forced to charge as an action, because Ulix was killed by a charge of that Piglet with its first AP. The Piglet then chooses to charge a model that is about 7'' away. With the 1''left to charge, the liglet decides to go the extra 1'' to land directly beneath her target (on the right side) allowing the piglet to "bind" another model, that is now directly in front of it. Question: Is the piglet allowed to do so? Resolution: The piglet is allowed to do so, because it is still charging in a straight line and ends its activation within melee range of her original target, fulfilling all necessary requirements. Situation 3: Drawing LoS A HT2 Model wants to cast a a Height 1 model. In the middle between them there is another HT1/2/3 model. No Line of sight can be drawn, without crossing the one model in the model. There is no elevation and it all is happening on normal ground (HT0). Question: When is it possible for the HT2 modle to take any action that requires LoS? Resolution: In no case there is such an option, because there cannot be drawn a LoS between the activated model and its target without crossing the other models base, no matter its HT, because the rules state, that those Lines are drawn from a "top down" view. Thanks for the help and i hope we resolved it correctly.
  9. Hey, So, there was a weird interaction in a game I had with Asami the other day against Lucius and The Tooth. The Tooth did her Challenge of Summer against Ohaguro and so at the end of the push she got to hit The Tooth. Fortunately, I had an 11 of 's in hand and hit Ohaguro's Ploughed Over Trigger so I pushed The Tooth away and charged The Claw, killing him dead with a Red Joker on several 's. The thing is, is it legal to Trigger Ploughed Over out of Ohaguro's Activation if the Trigger is only allowed to occur once per Activation? In other words, does the once per Activation restriction mean that Ohaguro can only perform the Trigger in her Activation (though it doesn't specify that it must be her Activation)? Or, does this mean that she can declare it during another model's Activation if an Ml Action is caused for whatever reason? So I was able to declare Ploughed Over against The Tooth but would not have been able to declare it against The Claw as it was still, technically, during The Tooth's Activation? Obviously, we played it the first way but only after rolling a dice to decide which way. Still, we'd like it resolved finally! Given this issue occurring with Yasunori and Bloodwretches to a degree, should this be FAQ'd for clarity? Thanks in advance! Chris.
  10. Hello. We're speaking about Ice Path from Ice Dancer model. If a model end an action touching one of these marker, the opponent can push the model up to 3" in any direction. Relevant quote: How it works in a charge? If the charging model end the charge movement touching an ice path marker, the opponent can push it away immediately or only after the first charge attack? Thanks for your thoughts.
  11. Quick question - yokai have Frenzied Charge: Frenzied Charge: This model gains + to the Attack ips of any Attacks it generates due to the Charge Action. they also have vital strike: Vital Strike: After succeeding, lower this model's Flicker Condition by 1. Then, if this model is still in play, take this Action again. Do attacks resulting from the trigger during the charge action also benefit from frenzied charge?
  12. Rules question. 1. If a piglet is alone it has to charge if it can take an action. 2. Corn Husks allows piglets to do the (1) interact action as a (0) action. 3. What if the piglet walks+walks and ends next to a scheme marker. Does it have to charge? Can it? (Assuming there is a legal target within charge range.) Pg 38, “Actions Causing Actions” Call Out Box: Change the text of the first paragraph to: “Some Actions and Abilities will force or allow a model to take another Action. If an Action or Ability calls for another Action to be taken (such as Charge or “Make A New Entry”) then the additional Action or Actions do not cost any AP. The original Action is not considered resolved until the new Actions are also resolved.” (9/14/16) So I'm guessing it can walk + walk + charge... right?
  13. I get a lot of questions regarding Flight and Incorporeal mechanics so I constructed a somewhat comprehensive look at the two. I would love feedback. Looking for fact checking as well as any mechanics that I missed that would be good to include. Flight: This model is immune to falling damage and may ignore any terrain or models while moving. Incorporeal: This model ignores, and is ignored by, other models and terrain during any movement or push. Reduce all damage this model suffers from Sh: and Ml: attack actions by half. Fall Damage: • YES: Flight ignores fall damage • NO: Incorporeal does not ignore fall damage Ignore Models During Moving: • YES: Flight ignores/is ignored • YES: Incorporeal ignores/is ignored Ignore Terrain During Moving: • YES: Flight ignores/is ignored • YES: Incorporeal ignores/is ignored Ignore Models During Push: • NO: Flight does not ignore/is ignored • YES: Incorporeal ignores/is ignored Ignore Terrain During Push: • NO: Flight does not ignore/is ignored • YES: Incorporeal ignores/is ignored Ignore Models During Charge: • NO: Flight does not ignore/is ignored • NO: Incorporeal does not ignore/is ignored Ignore Terrain During Charge: • NO: Flight does not ignore/is ignored • NO: Incorporeal does not ignore/is ignored *Note that Flight and Incorporeal do not affect any LoS mechanics. *All models stop immediately when the rules use “Base to base” see FAQ #73 73) If a model is pushed “into base contact” with an Incorporeal model, can it move through the Incorporeal model and stop on the other side? No. It stops as soon as base contact is achieved. *Addendum regarding elevation, see FAQ #57-58. 57) If a model is pushed off of an edge high enough to necessitate a fall, does it fall immediately? Could it be pushed far enough to reach another surface of equal height (assuming there was such a surface)? Models which fall due to a push, fall immediately (models also generally fall immediately during regular movement unless they have Flight or Incorporeal). The model would be pushed off of the ledge and then immediately fall and take any necessary falling damage upon reaching the ground. Then, if there is any distance left required by the push (and the model is still in play), it will push the remaining distance. 58) How do the Flight and Incorporeal abilities interact with vertical terrain? Can a model with Flight end its move a further vertical distance from its starting point than its Walk stat would normally allow? Can a model with flight “leap” over a gap in two pieces of terrain? A model with Flight ignores terrain for all purposes while moving. However, the distance the model moves is still limited by the length of the move the model is allowed to take. Add the distance the model moved horizontally in relationship to its starting point to the distance the model moved vertically upwards (downwards movement is falling and it is never counted against a model’s movement total) in relationship to its starting point. This value may not exceed the distance allowed by the move the model was making. For example, a model with a Wk of 6 and Flight declares a Walk Action. It is on a Ht 3 building and wishes to move to a point on a separate terrain piece (a Height 5 building) which is 3" away. It takes the model 5" of movement to get there (3" of horizontal movement and 2" of vertical movement because the difference between the Heights of the buildings is 2, and the model is moving upwards). Since the model has a Wk of 6, it can make it to the desired point on the Ht 5 building and still has 1" of movement to use as it wishes once it gets there. Incorporeal models move in the same way, though they may take falling damage if the end point of their move is on a lower Ht, depending on the terrain (see falling, Core Rulebook pg. 42).
  14. I noticed that the rules about manage of neutral models seems to suggest that the neutral models never make a charge. I'm under the impression that the intention would be that a neutral model can charge if there is a target in range, but RAW don't have this option built inside, if I'm not missing something.... So what do you think about and how do you handle it in your campaign? ------------------------------- Reference from Shifting Loyalties rulebook: "When a Weekly Event calls for a Neutral model to Activate, follow these steps: 1. If the Neutral model does not have Range or LoS to any model controlled by either player with any of its Attack Actions, it takes a Walk Action which must end with the Neutral model as close as possible to the closest model controlled by either player. 2. If the model has Range and LoS with any Attack Action to a model controlled by either player, it immediately takes an Attack Action against the closest player controlled model. If multiple models are tied for closest, the First player chooses the target. If the Neutral model has multiple Attacks in range, the player who does not control the target model chooses the Attack Action. 3. If the Neutral model did not move in step 1, it will make a second Attack as in step 2. However, if the model moved in step 1, but did not make an Attack in step 2, it makes a second Walk Action as in step 1.
  15. Terrifying duels happen when you target or end a walk action in engagement range of the model. Could a model charge a model beside another model with terrifying, ending its charge movement in engagement with the terrifying model without needing to pass a terrifying duel?
  16. Do charges need to be made directly at the charged person, or can you charge off to the side, or even behind, as long as you end up engaged?
  17. Hello everybody. On p. 44 CRB indicated that engaged models may not charge. What happens, when unengaged model declares charge, and the charge line passes through engagement range of the non-target enemy model? 1) Attacker can not declare charge; 2) It declares charge, but when entering the non-target model's ER, he stops and charge is failed; 3) It enters and leaves the ER unrestricted; 4) It enters into ER unrestricted, but when leaving the area, the third model performs the disengaging strike.
  18. Hi guys, I have a question about regular charge, without abilities included. So lets say model A tries to charge model B. There is a model between these two (C). Model A has a LoS to model B. From the rules, models are some kind of Impassible terrain. My question is - can model A charge successful model B if the only way to end up in engagement range is his base to move with some parts through model C's base? I suppose no... Am i right?
  19. When does the charging model take the 4 damage? As soon as they declare the target of the charge? I'm wondering for cases were the charging model has Blackblood, Finish the Job, Explosive Demise, etc. I could be very important if they die before or after moving.
  20. I was playing this WE and we were discussing how to use Levis Channel. I thought I could channel my charge and then get +to all duels and damage flips until the charge action is resolved. Means in that case: Declaring channeled charge (Charge action starts)->getting a +Flip to the "Terrifying Horror Duel"->Get +Flips to attack and Damage of first Action->Get +Flips to attack and Damage of second Action. ->Charge resolved (Charge action ends) All between the start and the end of the charge action should fall in the "during the remainder of the ability"-section, or shouldnt it? But they meant that I had to Channel for each attack once. Now I wanted to ask the Hivemind of Wyrdos to explain me how to use this old pedo gramp with his metal fetish correctly. "Channel:When declaring an Action, this model may suffer exactly 2 damage to gain + to all duels and damage flips for the remainder of the Action; the Action fails if this model is killed by this Ability." "Actions Causing Actions: Some Actions will force or allow a model to take another Action. If an Action calls for another Action to be taken (such as Charge or "Make A New Entry") then the additional Action or Actions do not cost any AP. The original Action is not considered resolved until the new Actions are also resolved. Some Abilities may force models to do something when declaring an Action (such as taking a duel for Manipulative). For these Abilities, each new Action generated triggers the Ability separately."
  21. hey everybody, during our last encounter we came across the following problem: are misaki and lilith able to charge up elevated terrain? considering "Diving Charge" and "master of malifaux" let them ignore terrain. the question is do they have to climb a HT 2" terrain piece during their charge action or are they even able to. what about models without special rules, can they charge up elevated terrain? thanks in advance for you help. greatings from germany! Lenn
  22. How many actions does a charge consist of, more specifically, are the two 1 ap (claw) attacks also considered a separate action? How many times would say, the Brewmaster's drinking contest trigger.
  23. I was looking at the Brewmaster and have a question regarding charging and his Drinking Contest: If a model charges Brewie from outside of his 3" drinking contest range, do they have to flip to see if they take a drink on each of their attacks once they are in the bubble? Similarly, if they declare a charge from within his 3" bubble (but outside of the 2" engagement range), do they only take a single drinking contest flip for the charge, or do they need to take 3 flips for the charge and the two attacks?
  24. A few days ago I saw Von Schill engaged by foot McCabe, they where about 3 inches apart, use Augmented Jump to charge McCabe. The two most well versed in the rules players where split on it. Augmented Jump lets you charge while you are engaged in combat but can you charge a model that you already in engaged with or that is engaging you? Do people think that this is a letter of the law vs spirit of the law issue?
  25. Just a random silly question for you guys. Lets say I have Ryle hanging out 3.5" from a The Hanged. Ryle Decides to charge The Hanged, does he make a terrifying check? We all know Ryle would not make a terrifying check if he was 4.5" away. Relevant rules: Ruthless: This model is Immune to Wp duels during its Activation. Unrelenting Terror: Enemy models in a4 which did not Charge this model during the current Activation lose all Immunities to Horror Duels, including Immunity gained by passing a Horror Duel. Terrifying (All) 13: Enemy models must pass a TN 13 Horror Duel if they end a Walk Action within this model’s engagement range or target this model with an Action. Edit: It's been pointed out to me that Ryle has Breach Psychosis not Ruthless. This doesn't change the question in any way just wanted to clarify.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information