Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'abilities'.

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


  • Wyrd News
  • Games
    • Malifaux 2E
    • Through the Breach
    • Puppet Wars Unstitched
    • Evil Baby Orphanage
    • Jetpack Unicorn
    • Showdown
    • Kings of Artifice


  • Forum News & Rules
    • Wyrd Announcements
    • Wyrd Board Help and Code of Conduct
    • Community Events
    • Wyrd Events
  • Discussions and Interests
    • News, Reviews, & Discussion
    • The Hobby Room
    • Wyrd Apps
  • Malifaux
    • Faction Discussion
    • Malifaux Discussion
    • Malifaux Rules Discussion
  • Through the Breach
    • TTB Discussion
    • Player Creations
  • The Other Side
    • TOS - Allegiances
    • TOS - Discussion
    • The Other Side Rules Discussion
  • Board Games
    • Vagrantsong
    • Bayou Bash
    • Other Games
  • Super Secret Forum

Find results in...

Find results that contain...

Date Created

  • Start


Last Updated

  • Start


Filter by number of...


  • Start



Website URL






Found 9 results

  1. Question about Jakob Lynches Defensive Ability called Hold 'Em and Mcmournings ability Organ Donor. Hold 'Em - "If an attacker cheats an attack action against this model, the attacker suffers 2 damage AFTER resolving the attack action" Organ Donor - "After this model inflicts damage with a ML action, it heals an amount of damage equal the the damage inflicted " I.E. - My Jakob Lynch was charged by my friends Mcmourning model. He cheated fate for the attack to hit and damaged my Lynch with Surgical Instruments. It triggered my Defensive ability Hold Em. Question - Would Jakob Lynches Hold 'Em trigger before Mcmournings Organ Donor heal happens OR after?
  2. Hi, Parker has this trigger: "Empty The Chamber: Before flipping damage, discard any number of Upgrades from this model to deal +1 damage for each Upgrade discarded." And also has this ability: "Limited Supplies: Once per Turn, after this model discards an Upgrade, add one Soulstone to this Crew's Soulstone Pool." So, should they work together? Also most of his upgrades have this part about discarding them: "This model gains the following Ability: Fast Getaway: At the start or end of this model's Activation, it may discard this Upgrade to take a Walk Action." Should two abilities work together?
  3. Get right to the good stuff... The scenario: Bete Noir starts the game buried. A void wretch uses it's Void Maw on the first activation and reduces Bete Noir to 0 wounds. NOW - The rule book on buried model states that: "When a model is buried it is removed from play... The model is not counted as killed or sacrificed when it is buried. Buried models cannot Activate. In addition, buried models are never considered to be in LoS or within range of effects. These models do not count as "in play" for the purposes of other rules that reference whether or not a model is in play. Buried models still process Conditions and other effects that happen at the end of the Turn (such as the Burning or Poison Conditions). If a model becomes buried during its Activation, end its Activation (it loses all AP and moves to the End Activation Step). - So far nothing about not being able to use ABILITIES Dead & Buried It is possible for models to be killed while they are buried, albeit somewhat rarely. If a model that is buried is killed, it will not benefit from any abilities that happen on the model's death (like Finish the Job). In addition, models that are buried at the end of the game count as killed for Encounter victory purposes. - Ok, so now we have that IF the model is KILLED (not reduced to zero wounds, but KILLED) it may not benefit from ABILITIES. Further, we have the FAQ that states: Pg. 29, “Triggers” Section: Add the following text to the last paragraph: “Models may not declare Triggers during Disengaging Strikes or while Buried unless explicitly noted otherwise.” - So now we have established that a model cannot declare a TRIGGER while buried. Now the tricky part, the wording on Bete Noir's card: "When this model IS REDUCED TO 0 WOUNDS, it may immediately take the (1) One With the Night Action before COUNTING AS KILLED. If the action succeeds, this model IS NOT KILLED." Then we have "One With the Night" "Bury this model and then remove all Conditions and heal all damage on this model." Ok, so here's my problem. In the above scenario the Void Wretch reduced Bete to 0 which then leads to Bete being able to declare her ability. The rulebook states that IF the model is KILLED, they cannot benefit from abilities that happen on their death, but this ability happens BEFORE she's counted as killed. So, can Bete then RE-Bury? as strange as that sounds. The RAW seems to address models that are killed while buried not having access to abilities and the FAQ seems to address models that are buried not having access to their triggers... but Bete's wording seems to wiggle around them. So, can you help? Is Bete dead for good in the above scenario, or is she the lone model in Malifaux that could truly be unkillable (granted the flip goes your way)?
  4. I have some questions about Talent timing conflicts. On the face of it, they seem to be straightforward. From the Rulebook: · If two Triggers would resolve at the same time the Defender’s Trigger is resolved first. · Whenever any Ability happens at the same time as any Triggers, the Triggers are resolved first. · If two Abilities happen at the same time, resolve them in the following order: o 1. The Acting Model resolves its Abilities. o 2. The Defending Model (if there is one) resolves its Abilities. o 3. Any other models controlled by the First Player resolves all of their Ability effects in any order the First Player chooses. o 4. Any other models controlled by the Second Player resolves all of their Ability effects in any order the Second Player chooses. Therefore, this should leave no wiggle room for error. However, what happens in the following cases: 1. What happens if there are more than two models involved? Who is considered the ‘defender’ if both opponents must defend against a Blast/Pulse/Aura and how does the order unfold? 2. What if the trigger is an ‘ability trigger’ (is found in the ability section of the talents) what is it considered for timing resolution? 3. This is the most common conflict I run into. From the rulebook, “Most Abilities grant a passive effect, some of which have their effect when a model suffers damage or is killed.” Triggers are declared on step 4 of a duel and in general resolve immediately unless indicated otherwise, I.e. “After (succeeding, Failing, resolving, damaging)”. Regardless of when they resolve, often they give passive effects. So how do Effects that are Passive gained from either abilities or triggers resolve? Do they, a. “stick” until a new effect supersedes? b. Does the “most Specific” rule come into effect? Pg.19 - In the rare instance that two special rules contradict each other, the more specific of the two rules takes precedence. c. Or does something else happen?
  5. So this came up in a game and I think its pretty cut and dry but I wanted to get a second opinion. The Player was looking for condition removal methods for The Dreamer and was hopeing to use the Mysterious Emissary's Reclamation trigger but didn't want to take the damage, Here's how it unfolded. Dreamer's ability "Safe In My Bed" effectively allows all damage and conditions to be pushed on to a friendly nightmare model, even if the model would not normally be a valid target. This coupled with the Mysterious Emissary's Reclamation trigger which removes all conditions from the targeted model after the attack succeeds would potentially allow The Dreamer to remove a condition, i.e. Paralyze, and then push the damage on to a nightmare. The thinking was originally that The Dreamer pushes all damage and conditions to a friendly nightmare and seeing that condition-removal -Reclamation- is not a condition, the dreamer wouldn't be able to push it off so he would "suffer" the condition removal, remove paralyze, then push the damage off. But this isn't how Safe In My Bed works. The ability reads "-target friendly Nightmare within 3 suffer the EFFECTS of the action as if it had been the target, INCLUDING ANY TRIGGERS." which Reclamation happens to be the built-in trigger on Mysterious Emissary. This condition removal while being a fun idea does not seem to be a legal way to do so. Also reinforcing the idea that the "Safe In My Bed" ability effectively makes the friendly Nightmare become the new target for all intents and purposes is the recent FAQ:
  6. Hello, I was wondering if teddy's ability allowed for 2 things, 1. Out of activation attacks. 2. It reads, when an enemy model within 6" (no LoS requirements!) looses a WP duel, this model may immediately take a (1) Ml attack action after resolving this action. It doesn't say that it has to be against the model that failed the WP duel. I see the SOF mechanic mostly used with his Gobble you Up which gives him usually 4 Ml app to use when combine with flurry, but here's my question. If Teddy is engaged with a Phillip, and a punk zombie charges Teddy and fails, can Teddy perform a hug on Phillip? The ability doesn't read "perform a (1) Ml attack action against the model that failed the duel" so I think my example or any combination of fail/attack would be legal. It doesn't even read that the WP duel has to be against Teddy. So if I had a coppelious use his 2" pulse attack with forces enemy models within the pulse to do a horror check, if any enemy model were to fail and be within 6" of Teddy, Teddy could hug any model within his engagement after Coppelious resolved his current action.
  7. I apologize if this has been answered somewhere else in the Forums- I couldn't find it. Here's the scenario: Chiaki is in base contact with the Grave Spirit. She Gains Armor +2 thanks to Strength From Below. At the start of her activation, she uses Innocence to move the Armor Condition to another model. What happens? A. The targeted model gains Armor +2 and Chiaki loses Armor +2. B. The targeted model gains Armor +2 and Chiaki loses Armor +2, but then immediately re-gains Armor +2 from being in base contact with the Grave Spirit. C. Nothing. Armor +2 is treated as "printed" on Chiaki, making it an Ability rater than a Condition (i.e. not a legal target for Innocence ) D. None of the Above? Thanks!
  8. Hi everybody! Can anyone provide some real clarification on these two abilities? My new player chose The Dreamer against my Ulix (ugh) and had some big issues this week, and honestly, those abilities confuse me as well. How exactly does Frightening Dream work? Also: Chain activations can only affect one other model. However, if the other model that was activated BY that chain activation ends his activation within range of another model, does the new model then chain activate? And so on? It felt like there was a lot (a LOT) of long turns being taken on the NB side, and it didn't seem right. I have never played NB, which is probably where I'm running into issues explaining. Kind of n00b questions, I know, but clarification would really help me out. Thank you!
  9. When comparing the stats and abilities of Through the Breach antagonists to their Malifaux 2nd Edition counterparts, which set of stats do you prefer to stick with? As an example, the Desolation in M2E has Hard to Wound, but the TTB version does not.
  • Create New...

Important Information