Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'Movement'.

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


  • Wyrd News
  • Games
    • Malifaux 2E
    • Through the Breach
    • Puppet Wars Unstitched
    • Evil Baby Orphanage
    • Jetpack Unicorn
    • Showdown
    • Kings of Artifice


  • Forum News & Rules
    • Wyrd Announcements
    • Wyrd Board Help and Code of Conduct
    • Community Events
    • Wyrd Events
  • Discussions and Interests
    • News, Reviews, & Discussion
    • The Hobby Room
    • Wyrd Apps
  • Malifaux
    • Faction Discussion
    • Malifaux Discussion
    • Malifaux Rules Discussion
  • Through the Breach
    • TTB Discussion
    • Player Creations
  • The Other Side
    • TOS - Allegiances
    • TOS - Discussion
    • The Other Side Rules Discussion
  • Board Games
    • Vagrantsong
    • Bayou Bash
    • Other Games
  • Super Secret Forum

Find results in...

Find results that contain...

Date Created

  • Start


Last Updated

  • Start


Filter by number of...


  • Start



Website URL






Found 19 results

  1. Quick question. I tried my best to find the answer but couldn’t :( Can you “double move” through terrain if you are incorporeal? More specifically, let’s say you’re Move 5 and the terrain is 8 inches across, can you Walk twice to clear it? My reasoning was that you couldn’t because your first Walk action would end your move within the terrain but I’ve seen a batrep where the Kirai player did it with Ikiryo and wanted to make sure. Ty in advance
  2. Quick sanity check Does planted roots prevents a model being obeyed by an enemy model to move/charge? I think so but I'm not 100% sure if the "enemy effects" is only the obey (and not actions taken using it) and it only include direct movement effects lures, pushes and placements. Ty in advance
  3. So here's the situation: I was running a Lilith list against my friend, and I used the Transfixing Gaze spell to push one of his units into hazardous terrain. The ability says that the model in question takes damage if it ends the push in base contact with hazardous or impassable terrain. He argues that this damage is from the terrain and not the spell action, therefore the 1/2/3 flip replaced the 1/2/4 for moving through Hazardous terrain. My arguement is that the spell, as an opposed duel, counts as an attack and is the source of the damage, so both flips would apply. Maybe one of us is wrong? Maybe we both are? Does anyone have an answer?
  4. If a model is engaged and gets a push (e.g. Shastar Vidiya Guard's Mantra (traveler), which allows him to push 2" when he focuses), can it get out of engagement? Same with a rule like Butterfly Jump (move up to 3" after being targeted by an Attack Action): can it disengage with it?
  5. Afternoon gang, The Advance Order specifically says the unit takes an action, and then moves. Am I correct that that timing is specific, or am I missing something that says the movement can come before or after the action? In other words, all other things being equal, a generic "missile" unit can only target something that is in it's range at the start of it's activation, either with Advance or Focused Effort. It has no way to move to get a target in range and then fire in the same activation (again, generic and all other things being equal.) Is this correct?
  6. As an example, imagine the following scenario; A Rail Golem wants to charge Criid through a corridor. However, in between Criid and the golem is a Witchling. The golem still has LoS on Criid because of it's larger base, though there's less than an inch of room between the corridor walls and the witchling. Is the golem allowed to charge Criid, or can he only move against the witchling? What if there isn't enough room for the golem in the space between Criid and the witchling?
  7. Hello, wyrdfolk! So a rules question came up during my first game that we were unable to figure out at the scene. Can models with the Incorporeal ability end a move/push inside of Impassable Terrain? If no, what happens if an Incorporeal model is pushed into an Impassable piece of Terrain and the travel distance indicated on the rule that caused the push is insufficient to bring the Incorporeal model all the way through? I asked this question in a Malifaux facebook group and recieved several "No, they can not" and "That would be unreasonable" but nobody was willing to present any evidence to back up their claims so instead I once again delved back into the rulebook and did some digging myself and believe that I may have found the answer. I'll lead by compiling a list of the relevant sources I've been looking at: "Pushes...The pushed model cannot pass through impassable objects (such as other models, or walls) or climb. If a pushed model comes into contact with an object that is impassible, the pushed model stops in base contact with the object." -pg.46 small rulebook. "Impassable - Models cannot enter impassable areas of terrain, which includes moving through the walls of a building or into other solid objects." -pg. 74 small rulebook. "Incorporeal: This model ignores, and is ignored by, other models and terrain during any movement or push..."-Lady Ligeia My current theory, based on the wording of the rules for Impassable Terrain and Incorporeal, is that Incorporeal models may indeed end their move/push inside of Impassable Terrain. This is because the only part of moving into impassable terrain that is usually prohibited is entry and that occurs during the models move/push - during which Incorporeal models ignore terrain. Is there some nuance of the language that I have not comprehended or something that I have just simply missed? If I am wrong, please prove me wrong, because I too of course realize that, depending on the setup of your terrain, having a bunch of models running around in places where they cannot physically be placed can be a total gameplay nightmare.
  8. Case 1: A 30 mm model is starting its move in severe terrain 1'' away from its edge. It has Wk6 and it is moving directly towards the edge in a straight line. How long will it be able to move? 1 inch in the severe terrain and 4 inches in normal terrain? Case 2: A 50 mm model is starting its move so that half of the model is in severe terrain, and half is in normal terrain. It has Wk6. If it is going to leave the terrain, will it suffer some penalty for being in severe terrain? How much penalty will it receive? Case 3: same as in case 2, but the model will be moving along the edge of severe terrain partially staying in it. What will be the penalties for it? UPD: Case 4: a model is crossing severe terrain. Is it suffering severe terrain penalty all the time the model is within the terrain? Should I apply the x2 multiplier to the path travelled AND the size of the base? UPD2: There isnt a clear answer in the rules and the FAQ, so i think it would be nice to see an official clarification on the matter
  9. I would like an official ruling on pushes. I think it may be universally accepted that pushes that are worded as push toward/push away are direct in that they happen along the line between the center of the two bases. However, what happens when the wording is push into base contact? 1. @solkanand other good folk on the forums have presented a solid argument which is based on consistency in that (following from the vague wording in the book) all relational pushes (i.e. when direction is specified in relation to a different base) are done directly away or towards, push into base contact with being a case of a relational push. 2. However, and that's me trying to interpret the rules, a case can be made for push into base contact to be along any straight line that results in the two bases physically touching, not just along the line that connects the centers of bases My point is, the first interpretation renders most push into base contact effects unusable around impassable terrain, i.e. most cases of a model being in hard cover. Moreover, a 50 mm model won't be able to push into base contact with a 30mm model if they are both touching the same wall, which is pretty ridiculous from a gameplay perspective. So I'd say that RAW there's no counter-argument to @solkan RAI I just don't see argument 1. working with any proper pushing ability Would like to see further discussn on the topic!
  10. How do you guys run von Schill and the Librarian together? I tend to think von Schill likes to be reasonably far upfield and get in people's faces. He seems to be a master where if he does on turn 4/5 it's not so bad because they're probably spent so many AP taking him down that it's worth it - but he always has a fair chance of surviving, so lately I've been pushing him fairly far upfield (I also take the upgrade that gives him hard to kill, on top of 'shirt comes off', of course). Initially I'd keep vS back to keep the Trapper within 10" for "I pay better", but I don't think restricting vS' movement for this reason is a good choice. Pushing vS pretty far upfield often seems to work well, even though this may mean nobody else is in his 6" bubble. But I've lately been finding the value of Librarian in just healing vS - however, it's hard to keep her within 6" of vS (her healing range), and last time she just ended up chasing vS around the board with double walks. So how are you positioning vS in relation to the rest of your crew to get maximum effectiveness? I feel like his buffing for the rest of the crew tends to be nice but not essential enough to restrict vS' movement. Of course this all depends on the game. Sometimes it just works best to have vS sitting in the middle of the field somewhere shooting fools.
  11. I can't imagine this hasn't been answered somewhere, but sadly my search abilities are not up to the challenge. Fuhatsu's Braced Ability states that "This model is immune to movement and push effects that are not caused by this model taking a walk action." So my question s whether Lilith's Tangle Shadows -- and "place" effects in general -- are movement effects? From the big rule book, page 42: "Any time a model is moving across the table it is called movement." Which sadly doesn't clarify for me whether a "place" is "moving across the table" or not, since all the other aspects of "moving across the table" (like moving around other objects) aren't relevant to a place, which in some ways seems obviously "movement" -- the model gets moved -- and in some ways obviously not a movement -- the model doesn't move so much as disappear and reappear. And just so it's all here, Lilith's Tangle Shadows: Select a friendly model within 6" of this model and place it into base contact with the target model. If the friendly model can be placed, then place the target model in base contact with this one. I did notice in one the 10T threads someone mentioned having their Fuhatsu Tangled by Lilith, but that doesn't seem definitive. Thanks in advance.
  12. You are faced with guild austringer, he is 20 yards from you and you have heard how deadly the raptor he is accompanied can be. He sends the majestic bird at you and now you only have 9 turns before it gets you..... wait what? So... In the Fate master's almanac (page 137) Austringer's raptor has some peculiar stats with Walk 1 and Charge 4. Meanwhile the Raptor from Into the steam (page 225) has Walk 6 and Charge 7. Do austringers feed their birds too much or has there been an mistake? This also has ruined the image I have of the Austringers in Malifaux, instead of raptor taking off and striking from the sky, I now see them walking to enemy at leisurely pace like a pigeon would.
  13. I've started to use the Rogue Necromancy's STALKED ability but the rule states I have to move as close to the stalked model as possible. Does that mean I HAVE to move into hazardous terrain if that would take me closer than going around it? It sounds kind of silly but perhaps that's the case? Also the movement from Rotten Belle's Lure: It's not a Wk action but it's still slowed by terrain since it's not a push, correct?
  14. Hi, guys! Having collected a large force of Outcasts, I have decided to move away from laser-shooting steampunk necromancers and mercenary Hulk Hogan-lookalikes and venture into the world of big moustaches, big knockers and big six-shooters that is the Latigo Posse. I’m not big on the gaming-aspect of Malifaux but it’s still fun to play once in a blue moon, and in those few instances it’s also fun to have a crew that is actually half-decent as well as awesome-looking. One of my favorite models in the Guild’s arsenal is that lovable tub-o’-lard, the Executioner – however, I’m starved for ideas about how to use him to best effect. The main problem, as far as I can see, is his slow speed compounded with his average (although not abysmal) Defense and Willpower as well as lack of defensive triggers. Being new to the Guild’s own (Oath Keeper-less) way of doing things, I don’t feel informed enough to make a decent enough crew-list (and, subsequently, a to-buy list). Therefore I turn to your collective wisdom, in order to shamelessly plagiarize any good idea you might have. What are you guy’s and gal’s thoughts on how to get your blubbery butcherer across the table in the time and condition to wreak sufficient magnitudes of face to justify his price? Preferably using Perdita Ortega as Master, but for sake of discussion it would be fun to hear any ideas you might have with any of the Guild’s Masters. "The Executioner's coming to get you... eventually..." Cheers! /Werner
  15. How are Ht1 terrains such as small walls or crates treated during movement phase? Or local community agreed to simply decide before game whether they are climbable and impassable (thus allowing to move through with some penalty, but stopping pushes) or severe terrain (simply applying movement penalty but without stopping pushes). Is there any official rule we might have not noticed on how they should affect movement?
  16. So, in our playgroup, there is a disagreement and I'd like the honourable forum members' opinions: When models move through Severe Terrain, each inch moved costs 2" of movement (p.61, big rulebook). When something is divided in Malifaux, the end result is rounded up to the nearest whole number (p. 29, big rulebook). So, if a model with Wk 5 moves through severe terrain, can it move 3" (5/2, rounded up), 2,5" (those 2,5" costing 5" of movement), or 2" (4" of movement buy 2", the last inch cannot be spent because it doesn't buy a full inch)? Thoughts?
  17. How far can one get with Collodi? Staring of with a few basic questions regarding the movements: Q1: Marionettes need to be within 8" of collodi, is this the entire base or not? Q2: Is it true that you can place Collodi anywhere as long as it is in base contact with the marionette when using "Pull strings" Q3: Is the same true when using the marionettes ability? Q4: Does a wicked doll have to have the entire base within 2" when using its teleport to puppet master ability? Cause then one should be able to with using collodi as the first miniature, trigger fast dolls and target one wicked doll to be able to activate after collodi as well as having all marionettes activate immediately after collodi. Also use breathe life on the wicked doll. (for easy counting all bases are 1") Move 1st marionette as far as possible from collodi => almost 9" teleport for collodi placing him on the other side. Move 2nd marionette as far as possible from collodi => almost 9" teleport for collodi placing him on the other side. (+1 since collodis base allows it to teleport infront of collodi) Move 3nd marionette as far as possible from collodi => almost 9" teleport for collodi placing him on the other side. (+1 since collodis base allows it to teleport infront of collodi) Move 4nd marionette as far as possible from collodi => almost 9" teleport for collodi placing him on the other side. (+1 since collodis base allows it to teleport infront of collodi) Teleport wicked doll within 2" and then move 5+5+5 And strike once. Total 9+10+10+10+15 = 54" threat range for the wicked doll... Sure its one crappy attack, but still interesting. Is this possible?
  18. Hi I will just like to know if a model can spend two actoin to walk twice
  19. After the link is established, when/how is it broken? If a movement effect such as Lilith's transposition spell moves the model the manniquin is linked to, does the manniquin move as well? or does it have to wait for the model the manniquin is linked to, move or activate (and complete its activation?) What if the movement effect occures after the model the manniquin is linked to already activated, and the game turn ends? If the models are not in b2b contact in the turns closing phase, does 'link' break?
  • Create New...

Important Information