Jump to content

Barmution

Vote Enabled
  • Posts

    223
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by Barmution

  1. Thank you for summarizing the process. This was my initial take too but it seems sort of off so I wanted to make sure I wasn't the only one seeing this interpretation.
  2. Hi, just came across an interaction that I'm not sure how to resolve: If a model with the Excorcism trigger ("Target must have a Summon Upgrade attached. The target is killed.") declares it vs a model with a Demise that replaces it what are the results? AFAIK the relevant examples are a summoned Mounted Guard or a GG2 reformed Ashes and Dust. Is the model being killed considered a game state that carries over to the replaced model or is the killing of the original model considered resolved at the point in time where the replacement model comes into play?
  3. I think Sparks' change is a pretty solid buff tbh. He gets to treat models as constructs with Now Yer A Robot allowing him to both Command Construct them and heal them for 2 with the wrench wo a TN. Also the Pack With Explosives trigger is going to be absolutely massive in a couple of KWs. Pigs, for instance, can effectively ping 3 times unresisted when you combine PWE w Stampede and Reckless. And as fun as the Bombs In Yer Belly upgrade was, it was a mechanic that mostly required your opponent to either be unaware or actively play along to get solid mileage out of. Now it may actually see table time in competitive environments. Additionally the Command Construct action combines pretty well with Analyze Weakness as your enemy no longer gets an activation to get the armored piece out of the way before, say, a Whiskey Golem charges it. Being a henchman also means that you can get some mileage out of his auras without him crumpling like a gasoline doused paper tissue on fire. 4 round Vassal tourney coming up in early May for me and I can't wait to put Sparks on the table
  4. That Hold Down is going to be massive for Levi as well (more stat6 irreducible damage attacks? Yes, please). The Brawler is also well suited to protect both Waifs and Levi himself, at least from ranged attacks, so I think I'll be using him in Amalgam a fair bit.
  5. PM sent, thank you! And you might just be right, I play Freikorps pretty frequently.
  6. Sorry to poke you @dzlier but this is still an issue for me. I can't reenter any active games and as such cannot delete them or mark as finished. I'm reluctant to delete and reinstall the app as I think there's reason to believe that the issue won't go away since I'd want to connect the app to my forum name on reinstall. I understand that you're a busy man so I'm not asking for any fixes on the app itself but do you know if there's anything I can do on my side to try to get this fixed? Cheers!
  7. I've encountered a weird bug several times now: Sometimes the "In Progress" section just gets greyed out and I can't see any of my active games even if I start or join a new one. Sometimes it fixes itself when my opponent changes stuff or abandons the match, other times it just seems to correct itself after some time. Any idea what this can be? I'm on Android and logged in with a forum account.
  8. Your last question is my follow up question from the original post (mine was poorly phrased), so I'm pretty curious myself
  9. Another variant: You obey a model with Academic Zeal to kill one of your own models (of at least 5 ss value), elect discard the upgrade to summon a Transmortis Minion but there's no room for the summoned model to place so the summon fails but the upgrade is discarded. Would that be a legal sequence of effects?
  10. I agree on both counts but wanted an outsiders' opinion on it. IMHO point 1 not entirely clear cut since I'm not sure that the effect text adheres to the cost/effect syntax of actions on cards and in that case his would be a case comparable to taking an attack action without a valid target, ie. you declare your use of the action but since there's no valid target (in this case Transmortis minion of low enough cost) the rest of the effect fails to resolve.
  11. If a model with this upgrade is obey'ed or otherwise forced into taking an action under an opposing model's control (Brin's Misdirected Rage trigger, for instance), and that action kills an opposing model (ie. one in the obeyer's crew), could the obeyer use the effect on the upgrade? Since the effect occurs within the context of the action and not after resolving the action I'm leaning towards yes. Obey (and most other control effects) specifies that you cannot take an action that summons other models but this is an incidental effect of the upgrade, not the action. Follow up question: Can you discard the upgrade to summon nothing if the killed model is of too low cost?
  12. Ok, I think I've pinpointed where I read this action differently from you: You seem to be reading the action as something that partially resolves at the time the action is declared then "pauses" and finally resumes at the start of the next turn. My reading is that for the action to completely resolve you decide its effects at the time where the action is declared, then those effects are added to the game state to be executed at the start of the next turn, a bit like the lingering effect of Vasilisa's Needle And Thread if the target doesn't discard a card in that it's an effect that's not tracked by any specific mechanic like tokens. My interpretation is that the "When" of the Wait What?! trigger tells you when the additional marker is dropped, the type is decided at the point in time when you are declaring the trigger and at that time you are treating the Pit Trap Marker as a Scrap Marker.
  13. I don't know if this will clarify my point of view for you but I think we differ in what we view as the scope of Scrapyard Mines' effect. If the only time you evaluate what type of Marker the Pit Trap is at the moment that you declare the action and trigger then I agree with your interpretation. OTOH If the Marker type keeps being affected by Scrapyard Mines throughout the entire action then you have 2 more options: The Marker type will be treated as whatever type you treated it as at the moment of declaring Into Space, resulting in the trigger producing Scrap At any point where the text refers to the Marker type you get to choose as per Scrapyard Mines, resulting in the trigger producing Wong's choice of either Pit Trap or Scrap @Plaag At no point have I argued that the first marker dropped is not a Pit Trap Marker if you launch a Pit Trap Marker. My question is whether the Marker type referred to in the Wait What?! trigger is affected by the Scrapyard Mines ability.
  14. That's reasonable but in that case I'd argue that Wong's player has a choice of which type of marker to drop.
  15. Thank you for your reply. I'm open to me making a mistake here and this is not a hill I want to die on but I don't think the mistake I'm making is the one you're pointing out. I consider the marker being dropped by the action as literally the same marker that was removed. However I don't think the game somehow "forgets" that for the pupose of this action the player has elected to treat that Marker as being of the Scrap type and the type is what's being referenced in the trigger text. Either way I'm fine with both outcomes and it's not something I'd argue in a tourney, I just wanted to be convinced about the common interpretation being right as I'm not seeing the logic of it given the card texts.
  16. Both action and trigger refers specifically to the removed marker (and it's type) so referencing it's type would intuitively be the type that's being overridden by Scrapyard Mines IMHO.
  17. As per this thread it's pretty clear that if you launch a Pit Trap marker, you drop a Pit Trap marker, however: This trigger on Launch Into Space drops a Marker of the same type as the one that was launched, leading me to believe that the Scrapyard Mines ability will make Wait What?! drop a Scrap Marker instead of an additional Pit Trap Marker since the type is exactly what is being "overridden" by Scrapyard Mines. Or are these seperate references to the marker type, allowing the Wong to decide whether he uses the "may" part of Scrapyard Mines inside the scope of a single action? Any thoughts?
  18. Haven't been able to play a lot of games lately for obvious reasons but I've been toying with the idea of bringing in a Dead Outlaw and a Guilty into Freikorps for some card draw. At 13 SS they are a sizeable chunk of your crew but there's a couple of synergies here that can make it worth it: The upgrade on the Guilty to make the DO trigger his draw is cost free, at least SS wise Any tome you get on the DO's attack can drop an enemy scheme marker, triggering card draw from any model(s) with Wanted Criminal With the enemy scheme marker there the DO can trigger an action on the Guilty using At Gunpoint with a bonus of +1 damage on any given action (pretty good with Rocket Launcher) DO itself is a pretty decent model for putting a Rocket Launcher on due to Run 'n Gun and Covetous Cravings is great for giving Hannah or Arik Fast If you're hiring a prospector on anyone you have a semi-reliable source of enemy scheme markers to turn into more SS or card draw/cycle This obviously doesn't mitigate the lack of card draw within the keyword but I'm going to try it out next time I play VS.
  19. Barmution

    Sparks

    Np, I agree that it reads a bit ambiguous.
  20. Barmution

    Sparks

    Pretty sure that if you Obey an opposing model to hit your upgraded Gupps it's not considered friendly to that model since Obey doesn't change a model's allegiance.
  21. Barmution

    Sparks

    I want to try a build in Bayou Zoraida with Sparks putting bombs onto spawned Gupps. Then you obey big beaters to hit the Gupps (using the Gupps as a node) and they get hit by both their own secondary damage from the blast marker and the damage from the upgrade. It sounds a bit janky but I think Stealth will help keep the Gupps alive compared to other Bayou disposables. Think it could be fun if nothing else.
  22. That's a message we've been receiving quite loud and clear for some time.
  23. He probably also means the My Loyal Servant trigger on VS himself, Juggernaut on Laz which Hannah can copy, the construct specific healing from the Engineer action, the Survival Skills trigger on the Freikorpsmann and the fact that both VS and the Freikorpsmann has the Survivalist ability which boosts the healing they receive. Not to be a dink but you seem to have decided that the M3e Freikorps is just all bad compared to M2e and your posts are just reflecting your opinion without even considering opposing viewpoints. They are in a good spot. Play them, but play them to their strengths.
  24. Yes, that basically was my question but in reverse
  25. Does this imply that he cannot be unburied by the effect that buried him since that is an enemy effect and involves placing him?
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information