Jump to content

TheJoyInGaming

Members
  • Content Count

    521
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    1

TheJoyInGaming last won the day on September 19 2019

TheJoyInGaming had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

193 Most Excellent

About TheJoyInGaming

  • Rank
    Master
  • Birthday 11/18/1991

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Missouri

Recent Profile Visitors

928 profile views
  1. @LeperColony Again, I understand your position. I am asking you questions that you refuse to provide an answer for regarding the timing chart. A Start of Activation effect has to resolve at some point during a model’s activation. That is a given. Our interpretation is that they start, and resolve, in Step C1, hence they resolve as I have described above. Your position has yet to identify when Start of Activation actually finish resolving. You cannot say C1, as then you would either have to start making up rules about why these abilities resolve differently, or our position is correct. You cannot say C2, as that would be arguing that the effects begin at one point and end in another (that would be making up rules). You cannot say Start of Activation purgatory, as that would be making up rules because that Step doesn’t even exist in the game. This is why in multiple threads effect resolution and timing have been quoted to you; because you are ignoring the elephant in the room. I will not reply further as the only thing you have made clear in your stance is that you will argue “nuance” when you are confronted with very good critique of your position.
  2. Again, I understand your position quite well. You are just trying to have your cake and eat it too. To explain: If it is still Step C1 as a Start of Activation ability resolves, then subsequent Start of Activation abilities can begin resolving even if they had not originally met the requirements of doing so. For example, if Misaki begins her Activation and unburies in Nix’s Diseased aura, she would still gain Blight because her ability resolved within his aura and it is still Step C1, the Start of Activation. There has not been any evidence from the rules that has been cited so far in the threads about this that would support a reading that an ability can begin resolving in Step C1, finish resolving in Step C1, and yet not cause any other abilities to resolve that would be applicable in the same Activation Step. It would have to state so explicitly as resolving Start of Activation abilities in that manner would be contrary to how abilities are resolved at every other Step.
  3. @LeperColony I do understand your position quite well. You are arguing that the effects are generated at Start of Activation (C1) and then resolved at a different Step (C2). This is not stated in the game, and as far as I am aware, no other effects in the game resolve in such a manner. Furthermore, your position cannot escape being involved with checking game effects as the Start of Activation abilities resolve, as I stated above. If C1 is where the abilities are generated, and you are not arguing that they resolve in Step C2 or in a weird resolution purgatory that is neither C1 nor C2 (either of which is creating new rules in the game btw), then as the abilities resolve it would still be C1 (Start of Activation). This means that any other effects still applicable at that timing Step would resolve ie if Misaki unburies in Nix’s Diseased aura she is gaining Blight.
  4. I don’t think you can reasonably argue that the Ferdinand loop “breaks” the game when the loop is clearly limited by how many cards you have in your hand. I do think the loop is unintended. As to your point about us only interpreting start of activation as a phase since it is not explicitly described as such, that is true. We interpret it as such since in every other phase of the game you constantly check for new game states and effects. This interpretation is line with how the rest of the game is played, and I would argue, much more likely to be correct than the opposite view which relies on making up new rules for the game entirely.
  5. @Jesy Blue Regarding your reason for edit about Shockwaves and Yasunori: I believe Resistance Triggers only work on Opposed Duels and though Shockwaves are Attack Actions, they generate Simple Duels. Consequently, models affected by them cannot declare any Resistance Triggers.
  6. Thanks for the constructive criticism, and the tips. Sometimes I get blinded by the magical Christmas dreamland scenario and don’t take into account what will actually work.
  7. Engineer's bonus gives him Shielding 2 and Heal 1. Also, Drachen can help with the Burning and Lazarus can Assimilate his Bury. As to why, I like to tinker with OOK models and see if they work. I think it is a holdover from deck building in TCGs.
  8. Has anyone had any luck with Talos out of keyword? I kinda wanted to try him out in a Freikorps crew, but he seems so SLOW that it doesn’t seem worth it.
  9. Thanks for adding that! Also, I think the Rat King would still have Focused +1 because the Focused condition is given to all the Rats before the tangling happens. Wouldn’t each Rat resolve the 3” move before any 1 Rat can take its queued action, or am I misunderstanding? Edit: To clarify, I have always understood Unclean Influence with the Direct Control trigger resolving such that each Vermin in range first moves 3”, then each Rat gains Focused +1, and then each Vermin takes its queued Action. This is based off of my understanding of Actions Generated by Effects (pg.34 PDF).
  10. I have to agree with this. Just started trying it out but his great Mv combined with Diving Charge and Rocket Boots just make him absurd. Looking at his damage read out as well makes me think he is supposed to act as a Scheme Runner/Hunter when not handing out equipment. In Idols I have experimented with taking SoDP on Von Schill because being able to heal all 3 wounds for killing an enemy after moving an Idol seems funny.
  11. I would recommend it as I have enjoyed the Nothing Beast with Hamelin for just that reason. Don’t forget Storm of Shadows doesn’t need to be used just defensively either. Putting up Concealment near enemies who like to target one another applies a decent amount of pressure to their resources.
  12. I am not following your logic. Unclean Influence gives each Vermin an Action to take so in the example I am using it is used in range of 4 Rats meaning that each Rat would then get 1 Action queued. My question concerns what happens if the first Rat uses its Action to tangle together and create a Rat King whilst the other Rats still had an Action queued. It is still considered the same model, and each Rat still had an Action queued, so would it be allowed to take the queued Actions? The only rules reference I can see that would pertain to this would be Step 4 of the Replace rules, but I am not sure if this would fall under that: "If the new and original models belong to the same Crew, the new model becomes the target of any effects that targeted or chose the original model, such as Schemes, Leader designation, or lasting game effects. The new model is always considered a legal target for those effects." What I think you are quoting is Step 7 which pertains to what to do if the Rat King is made during the Rats own Activation, so Unclean Influence would not fall under that. No wording exists in the rules, as far as I am aware, that states that queued Actions only carry over to Replaced models if the original model was replaced during its own activation. I do agree that it should not be able to take the queued Actions, but I see nothing in the rules that back that interpretation up.
  13. @solkan Sorry, I could have worded that more clearly. I was going to ask what happens when you use Unclean Influence on 4 Rats and the first Rat tangles together. Does the resulting Rat King get 3 more Actions to take (1 for each pending action that was remaining between the Rats), or does it take no more Actions as it is already considered to have take one with the tangle Action?
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information