Jump to content

Adran

Moderators
  • Content Count

    7,647
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    17

Everything posted by Adran

  1. If it doesn't replace the th en the whole ability does nothing because she can't use whilst engaged. The two icons are a type of range and I think are mutually exclusive.
  2. I'm not sure how long those words have been there, but to me the rules are clear. I think (but don't know for certain) that its people not reading the rules closely. In which case it doesn't matter what the rules say if people don't actually read them. Its part of the reason I try and quote from the rule book to see if the rule is unclear when its the only thing they are reading, or if they have just skim read (as I often do myself) and missed the critical phrase (such as here, I think the phrase I bolded answers the question with no possible debate, but if you misread it then you can get confused).
  3. Thats only for the relenting model. The attacker still goes through those steps " If it does, the relenting model (but not the acting model) skips steps "A" through"D" below. " page 10
  4. Relenting doesn't stop her declaring a trigger. Actually as far as I can see at the moment relenting doesn't stop anyone declaring a trigger...
  5. Its also potential protection for a near dead model, keeping them safe long enough to activate again.
  6. Taken from page 45 of the latest rules "At the start of each turn after determining which player has initiative, drop a strategy marker centered on the centerline. The location of the strategy marker is determined by the suit of the initiative flip of the player with initiative (and the direction is calculated from that players perspective):" Does this not answer the Joker question sufficiently for you?
  7. What is doing 11 damage in an activation? I can't think of much that can do that without luck and/or misplay on the opponents part. (There are a few of the beater masters that can, like Viks and Justice, but those are the only 2 I can think of) When combined with Shielded (relatively common in her crew), this can mean she can take 13 points of damage before death. It works out as an extra attack at minimums 1, 2, 3 and 4. That potentially is an extra activation to get to heal her, or protect her in some way. Her Healing potential is one of the highest out there. (her bonus action has a very high chance to be healing her 3 damage a turn if you want it to) (Some people really don't like feed on grief, but its a range 8 stat 6 targeting wp which can have minimum 3 with a heal if you get a ram. Its also got a chance to be done on a positive attack flip. And that's before you consider using it on your own corpse candles for a 4 hp heal).
  8. I do know the more ability Tara has to unbury, the more useful things, like the bonus action, get for using on your own models. So even if you had the larger crew so you have to use Aionius for an unbury to gain the pass tokens, you may well still want to unbury something else later. I know the games I had I rarely get enough fast on the enemy to get more than 1 unbury each turn. Maybe we'll get some insight from the next update.
  9. Adran

    Lady Justice issue

    On the assumption she is balanced now, if you made the trigger better you would need to make something else worse to keep her balanced.
  10. Adran

    Lady Justice issue

    From my perspective it changes my choices when ever I face her. You as the Justice player my never realise how much it changed my choices, but it has. I've not faced ironsides in M3, but in M2 when it was an after she was damaged, I wasn't so worried about it because I was trading damage. It wasn't nice, but I was at least getting something out of it. Ironsides now is a more powerful trigger, both because she has the suit built in, and because its after resolving. But it means I just know the damage flip is coming my way when I attack. Its a different set of choices.
  11. Adran

    Lady Justice issue

    You know I disagree with you in general on these, but I would correct this list in that you need a mask. It doesn't have to be high, as you include succeeding as another requirement. I think I've previously been hit by a 3 of masks because of poor flips and no hand, or no cheating. The higher the mask, the more likely you are to succeed. (As a general rule I don't think all cards have to use an equal amount of space, so if the only objection is its a waste of space because you never use it, then there is no requirement to put something in its place if its taken away, as that makes no difference on her overall balance.
  12. Honestly, by about turn 3 of my first game of it, I didn't need to consult the chart for placement. I would also say that the rules are that the re-flip for the joker is after you have resolved who has initiative, so that reflip has nothing to do with that anymore. The order is you determine who has initiative as normal, then you look at the suit of the person who has initiative and follow the chart, which is where the joker re-flip is.
  13. I think the intent was to allow you to ensure that you had fast models to unbury from. As long as you have a pass token, with the new rules you could make (almost) anything fast, and be sure to be able to use that fast to unbury. It was a solution to the complaint that people struggled to make enemy models fast and keep them fast enough to unbury from them. I may be wrong, but I don' think its intended purpose was for the extreme combo you're trying to pull off. So the fact that the combo is tricky and almost impossible to get right isn't an issue that needs sorting. If my understanding of the intent is right, then it being fast models is important. I like the thinking that gives to the opponent on deciding what to activate and when, knowing that they might not be able to have an activation if they pick a fast model.
  14. Disagree. If a model has burning, and resolves it, and then gains Poison in the end phase it will still have to resolve the poison. It is a model with an unresolved condition, so it would have to be resolved. If It resolved poison +1, so ended the poison condition and then gained a new poison condition then it contains an unresolved condition so has to resolve it. If it had poison +18, dropped to poison+17 then gains a fresh poison +1 to go back to +18 then I wouldn't expect it to have to resolve it again. Its not models that you resolve in the end phase, its unresolved effects. So it shouldn't make a difference if it goes on an "old" model or a "new" model
  15. That's not really relevant to the wrench you threw in. I'm not sure what happens to the burning, I think it actually depends on how you interpret the "gains conditions" line I think its probably a "new" condition stack, so would then burn the guard patrol to death as well, but not all that sure. and there are still the complicated questions such as what happens if I resolve poison, and then a poison gamin explodes giving me fresh poison. Does it matter if my resolving the poison dropped to 0 or not?
  16. No. You resolve 1 condition, which will result in death and demise effects. Then you still have an unresolved condition on that model to resolve at some point in the end phase.
  17. You have to have 3 scheme markers to score. Its not "if there are 3 scheme markers nearby" its "if you have 3 scheme markers". The first sentace restricts you to using your markers, and the second sentence referes to the markers from the first sentence. No scoring with the enemy markers
  18. No I'm not ignoring the hand, but part of that was why I called them less resource intensive. They get more value from the initial flip, and less from the cards in your hand. So you have less incentive to use the resource of the card in your hand on them, and can instead use the card on something else. (And yet still either be dealing damage or reducing the enemies resources by forcing them to cheat more) When I play I only have 6 cards, and typically only 3 or 4 that are likely to be cheated to try and cause a win. I take part in 20+ duels a turn so I am only likely to cheat 20% at best. If you took a model with 5 and a model with 6, and gave both identical hands you will find that the model with 5will hit more often over all because it will cheat second more often, and so waste less resources. Its not obvious or intuitive but I find that often statistics isn't. It doesn't mean they aren't true though. I do agree that the stat 5 is less likely to win that 1 crucial flip that you are both prepared to pour as many resources into as possible to win. Unfortunately as humans we remember those flips more than other flips. This will alters peoples perception of the value more than is true. I don't know how you came about your view, but my expectation is you played some games, saw a few times when stat 5 missed and you couldn't cheat it to hit and felt it to be worse. I doubt you recorded all the flip results in all those games and analysed the likelihood of these things happening. (And this whole debate is completely ignoring all the times when you get a negative flip imposed on your duel, and how stat 5 is also better than 6. I bet you wouldn't bother with the 6 attack most of the time, most people don't).
  19. Having spent a lot of time running M2e cerberii and slate ridge maulers, I can tell you bonuses before you take damage are much stronger than bonuses after you take damage. (and if you look at several M3 grit threads you will see that most people feel grit is largely rubbish as an ability because you are so near to death to use it, you're probably never going to get to use it. )
  20. Statistically if you have a 5 stat you have a higher mean duel value than if you have a 6 or a 7 stat. You do have a lower maximum, but that is less relevant if you are looking at the initial flip. So if you look in depth at the game you will find that if you have a 5 you will cheat second more often than if you have a 6 stat. You are right that the 5stat is less useful than the 6 stat if you are planning on cheating in that 13 to trigger onslaught and they cheat their df to 19, but since you are more likely to cheat second, you are less likely to waste that card. Your perception might be that you miss more, but the numbers don't actually back that up.
  21. Adran

    Lady Justice issue

    Yes, you need to consider the game, what cards your opponent has used and what size their hand is, and you probably also want to save them a lot of the time for times when they had to cheat first so you know they are going to go off. How late in the turn is it? Am I likely to have a better use for that 13 than the free lady Justice hit? Do they have another attack still and this hit puts them in range of death from counter attack? Short answer is probably no, but it is very game dependent. If you were already hitting a model would you cheat it in to get the quick reflexes trigger? If you ask the question "would you spend a 13 of Masks to give lady justice a free hit?", then a lot of the time people would do so happily. People also like to use it to get the second attack. Yet for reasons I can't fathom, using it to get a free hit on the enemy and stop a hit on you is considered a bad use of it. I think too often people just assume that when you have a lower stat you will lose because your opponent can always have a perfect hand. Making use of abilities such as counter attack is a game skill. Its probably one that you as a player may not appreciate the advantages you gain from it, because what you are doing is teaching your opponents its a bad idea to attack Justice. And they make take a little time to learn it, so it might not help out much in that first game, but the next time that player faces Justice they will become more wary. I've been playing this game since the first book, and I can probably count the number of Justice players that have used the ability in a seriously threating manner against me on 1 hand, but because my main opponent used Justice against me for most of first edition and they did use it well, I always treat Justice with care. So anyone that uses Justice against me is gaining the advantage of that previous learning. Is the long term learning worth it for you?
  22. I would say that depends on what you are trying to do. The convict is much less resource intensive because of that positive flip, so it is likely to be winning after flips but before cheating. (On average it will be hitting every model out there more than it will be missing them based on flips) Yes, if your opponent is prepared to cheat to protect their model, it will struggle to damage and kill, but that gets quite hand intensive for your opponent.
  23. Is there a reason why you would want to change their summoning as well as their cost? I will be honest and say I'm unlikely to ever hire a rat king but a drop in cost is unlikely to be the reason why. And it does have the capability to summon a fully healthy 6ss model just before it is dead, so you have to remember that will be factored into its cost.
  24. No, because the limitation is you can only hire 1 copy of the model, not that the crew can only contain 1 copy of the model. I'm not sure why the rules are so emphatic about the chosen leader is not hired. Is it just to avoid the questions about cost, or was there a rule reason, and does it still exist?
  25. Adran

    Lady Justice issue

    I agree that was an extreme turn, and not normal, but actually I disagree on the better use of the red joker. Yes, she could have used it on her attack to get the hit and trigger onslaught, allowing her to do 6-7 damage. But Her actual use saved her 4 wounds and dealt 3 wounds to the enemy (in this case) so is still the 7 would balance, but without her having to spend the Ap, which she could still do and still have a decent chance of hitting on her attack for more damage. (The same chance as her hitting with the onslaught). Knowing when to use those cards is down to the skill of the player at reading the game, because there are times when they would be wasted. I wouldn't spend stones to for the trigger unless I knew I had a high card and they didn't. But I would bluff a high mask in hand for quite a long time.
×
×
  • Create New...