Jump to content
Kintaro

Smoke and Shadows upgrade - ker-whut, now?

Recommended Posts

Title got ya in? Good.

On the Smoke and Shadows upgrade, specifically Smoke Bombs, the stat line looks like this :

(Ca 5 / TN: 13 / Rg: 3)

You drop the two markers in base contact with "this model" (ie the caster).

so what the heck is the Rg: 3 for?!?

Is it something I'm just not seeing?

Thanks for any help!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

LOL!

Nah man, the 50s are only about 2" across, and everything that gives a range allows you to essentially toss whatever you're casting that far away (IE the closest edge would be 3").

Thanks anyway though!

Cheers!

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So wait, your saying the base contact is 3" from the base of the model? Much confusion. This reminds me of the charging archer discussion.... Please all mighty wyrd help us.... Haha.

If anyone can help figure this out it would take a great load of weirdness out of the ability. I've been playing for about 2 months, started 10t and plenty of these "hands in the air" situations have come up.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's been mentioned before (here that I can think of) and the consensus is that it is a weird typo but no harm is done - you can ignore the range as it always has to be in base contact.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

LOL!

Nah man, the 50s are only about 2" across, and everything that gives a range allows you to essentially toss whatever you're casting that far away (IE the closest edge would be 3").

Thanks anyway though!

Cheers!

 

 

Not sure why this thread was resurrected, but this post strikes me as being completely wrong.

 

Just so anyone reading in the future thinks this was right.

 

It's not.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not sure why this thread was resurrected, but this post strikes me as being completely wrong.

 

Just so anyone reading in the future thinks this was right.

 

It's not.

How is this wrong?

He is correct on the template size. He is correct on how a range 3 action would work if it used a template of that size. The upgrade still has contradicting rules on it, and as far as I know there has been no official errata saying whether it truly is useable at range or if ithe templates do have to be placed in base contact.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

How is this wrong?

He is correct on the template size. He is correct on how a range 3 action would work if it used a template of that size. The upgrade still has contradicting rules on it, and as far as I know there has been no official errata saying whether it truly is useable at range or if ithe templates do have to be placed in base contact.

The spell specifically states base contact. I don't see how something can be 3"away, and in base contact.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The spell specifically states base contact. I don't see how something can be 3"away, and in base contact.

That is why it needs an errata. The big rulebook and the cards for the upgrade both say Range 3 and base contact.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That is why it needs an errata. The big rulebook and the cards for the upgrade both say Range 3 and base contact.

On this note, how many of us prefer base contact compared to 3" away.??

I think i would enjoy the 3" far more and it doesn't seem to be too "broken"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×