The "how to intro" thread

sssk

Hi folks,

We're all agreed that Puppet Wars is ace right?... good.

I thought it would be useful to produce a thread of the various ways in which people run demos, what's the set up, how many puppets, what kind of puppets etc etc.

I did my first demo yesterday, which was the first game of fully fledged unstitched I've actually played (so it was basically a demo for both of us).

I had:

Seamus

Bete

Belle

Nurse

Punk zombie

Punk zombie

December acolyte

My opponent had:

Lady J

Judge

Death Marshall

Austringer

Austringer

Executioner

Silurid

(these are just what I have assembled at present, I just allocated puppets to toyboxes).

We played map 1. The game took near enough an hour (as I'm still learning the unstitched rules, and trying to forget the old rules... and often getting the two confused), and basically ended up with Bete (with Judge's bandana attached) smashing through everything using combat 6.

Initial thoughts are that it worked ok as a demo. Next time I would probably go for a master and 3 pawns in the toybox, so that the game is faster (then if the newb is hankering for some more, we have more time to play a shoebox game where they could pick their own puppets etc).

So what has everyone else been doing for intros?

I think the key is to have the starting workbenches quite close together, separated by an Impassible Token. That way they start fighting in turn one, but because of that you are best dropping any puppets that could win under that condition (Hooded Rider perhaps). Planning ahead allows you to teach things as they come up, and it's your job (if you're playing) to ensure that you touch upon each rule in a step by step, in the moment, manner.