New to Malifaux - would like some advice.

graeme27uk

Hello,

I'm completely new to Malifaux, still tackling the rulebook after once brief read through. I'm taken by two main masters, Nicodem and Leveticus. I like the idea of having a nice undying horde of shambling monsters, and both seem to be able to access that. Leveticus sounds fun, though from the bits I've read he seems hard to play effectively.

They also seem to overlap in terms of models they can hire so that I can use models for different Masters, giving me more options.

Would either of those Masters make a good first time game in order to get used to the rules and if so what would you recommend to get with them?

Welcome, graeme :)

In my opinion, Nicodem's a pretty good choice for starting Malifaux. He has farily simple mechanics but you still get to learn new ways to play him every time you field him. My favourite point about him is that he teaches how to use blast counters, which are dang useful. Unfortunately he may end up costing a lot because of all the zombies he fields: lot of models to buy, lot of cash to spend.

Levi, on the other hand, is rather hard to start with. He has a huge models selection and you'll want to have many of them to optimise your choices depending on strategies, schemes, opposing masters, etc... And that's an even bigger financial investment. Plus, his playstyle is so radically different to other masters that I think it's better to leave him for later if you're looking to learn how to play.

The official Malifaux wiki could give you more details if you want to take a look.

Nico is definitely more straight forward than Leve. Both will require something of an investment beyond their box set, Nico especially. Lots of summoning potential, and he needs his Mindless Zombies (plus Canine Remains are good).