Terrain: Star Theater

LoboStele

EDIT: MASSIVE update further down the thread. Project completed! Lots of pics! :)

As are several others right now, I'm working on my own version of the Star Theater.

It's going to sort of be 2 floors. I plan for some of the outer areas to be both 1st floor and 2nd floor gaming areas. I'm a bit worried some of the 1st floor stuff will be tough to play in because of the high walls, but we'll see. This is my first time building something of this scale, so I'm experimenting a lot. :)

The whole thing is going to be 3'x3'. I'm building it in 4 18"x18" segments, and planning to make it modular, so you could put the segments in different orders to form the whole thing. also hoping to make some extra exits along the outer walls and such, so that it can be used for larger games as well. Construction is made from foam board, with a combination of hot glue/Elmer's glue. Foam core was used for things like the stage and to build the stairs. Then using varying sizes of popsicle sticks for different things.

Here's my WIP at the moment. Click images to see bigger versions.

th_malifuaxterrain06.jpg

th_malifuaxterrain10.jpg

th_malifuaxterrain12.jpg

This is the stage corner. I need to finish putting the wood planks on the stage, and probably re-do the stairs leading off the back of the stage. They didn't come out as nice as the front steps, which is why you see the front ones in these pics, but not the back ones, LOL. Will have a bit of a back stage area. I plan to put a bar around the front, with actual fabric curtains hanging from it. :)

I've got one other quarter about finished, but I've gotta nail down some supplies for a special portion of that one first.

Edited by LoboStele

I've also created some small terrain elements to be used inside the Theater, and have been making them to specifically represent some of the actual terrain features from the book. So....

Here we have a Pool of Aether

th_malifuaxterrain14.jpg