How to Improve my Nellie Game

longfanz

Hi!

I've been playing Malifaux for a few months now, first with Sonnia and now with Nellie. The thing is she is supposed to be our strongest master but I don't know how to improve my game with her. My typical list is something like:

Nellie - Misleading Headlines, Delegation, Guild Funds

Francisco Ortega - Wade in, Lead Lined Coat

Phiona Gage - Transparency, Lead lined Coat

Ryle - Numb to the World, A debt to the guild

2x Guild Guard 

Printing press

and then a queller, a watcher or a reporter depending on schemes and strats.

What I use to do is to move my beaters and give them fast the first turn, the second one they try to smash something but after that I don't know exactly what I should be doing with Nellie. As my beaters are fast they try to move charge so they are quite far away for Nellie to help them or there are no enemies in range, things like that. What are good uses for Nellie on the mid turns?

Thanks!

• Like 1

Nellie should have enough movement to keep up with your beaters, with pushing 6 from a marker as her 0 she can comfortably keep up the pace. Then she is in range for things like Propaganda. Using that you can really utilise your beaters (triggering for extra attacks) and Phiona's ability to get an extra attack when a model fails a WP duel.

You can also use Nellie great to push/slow models away from the key combats you want your beaters in so they avoid damage. Also hot of the presses is great to allow places so you can teleport models around.

From your list I see Ryle as your big disadvantage, he is a model to me who never earns his stones back - slow, gun is OK at best and melee is good if he gets in. McTavish is always a better pick.