Jump to content
  • 0
Davos

Can Levi hire Hoffman?

Question

So this might be a really stupid questions, but could I hire Hoffman into my Levi crew?  The wording on Pariah of Iron states "This crew may hire non-Gremlin Faction Construct models regardless of the Crew's declared faction."  Hoffman is both not a Gremlin and a Construct....soooooo can he be brought into a Levi Crew?  My gut says no because you can't field 2 masters at once.  That being said, I don't know of any rule/errata/FAQ that prevents it.  Thinking I could have some stupidass combos running Hoffman with Levi + Iron

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

5 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
2 hours ago, Davos said:

So this might be a really stupid questions, but could I hire Hoffman into my Levi crew?  The wording on Pariah of Iron states "This crew may hire non-Gremlin Faction Construct models regardless of the Crew's declared faction."  Hoffman is both not a Gremlin and a Construct....soooooo can he be brought into a Levi Crew?  My gut says no because you can't field 2 masters at once.  That being said, I don't know of any rule/errata/FAQ that prevents it.  Thinking I could have some stupidass combos running Hoffman with Levi + Iron

But what would the hiring cost be?

That's why we try to use master and totem models when proxying something--there is absolutely no legal way the model can be what it illustrates, and even people fairly new to the game are likely to recognize masters. Ophelia has been our surrogate Trixiebelle for so long I'm not sure my meta would recognize the real one. :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
2 hours ago, Davos said:

So this might be a really stupid questions, but could I hire Hoffman into my Levi crew?  The wording on Pariah of Iron states "This crew may hire non-Gremlin Faction Construct models regardless of the Crew's declared faction."  Hoffman is both not a Gremlin and a Construct....soooooo can he be brought into a Levi Crew?  My gut says no because you can't field 2 masters at once.  That being said, I don't know of any rule/errata/FAQ that prevents it.  

Can Levi hire Jack daw? ( Or any other master).

Well the rules have no rules for hiring masters. If you want to go old school and play brawls, which is first edition code for 2 master games, then you were allowed that sort of cross hiring.  That gives Levi a large pool of possible masters, depending on his pariah. 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
7 hours ago, Davos said:

So this might be a really stupid questions, but could I hire Hoffman into my Levi crew?  The wording on Pariah of Iron states "This crew may hire non-Gremlin Faction Construct models regardless of the Crew's declared faction."  Hoffman is both not a Gremlin and a Construct....soooooo can he be brought into a Levi Crew?  My gut says no because you can't field 2 masters at once.  That being said, I don't know of any rule/errata/FAQ that prevents it.  Thinking I could have some stupidass combos running Hoffman with Levi + Iron

Look at the rules and ask yourself “What prevents Leveticus from hiring Jack Daw and every other Outcast master in a 50 SS game?”

There are two mechanical features which prevent you doing so:

1.  Masters don’t have a soulstone cost, so it’s not possible to hire them for soulstones.

2.  The way a Master is included in a crew is to select it as your leader.

Point #1 is why Pariah of Iron and all of the other out-of-Faction hiring rules don’t bother to specify “non-Master.”

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Ahh, thanks all for the answers.  Makes total sense.  And yes, I was indeed right - it was a stupid question 

  • Haha 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×