New to Malifaux

GhostMonk

So I'm completely new to Malifaux. I'm curious though......I picked up Shenlong's crew, along with a Shadow Emmisary and Dawn Serpent. What else should I consider as I'm just getting into the game and wanting to build some decent lists to learn on. I know a friend is hooking me up with Mizaki, and I plan on picking up The Living Armor there Izamu (I think is the name) and the Terracotta Warriors

I'd recommend against Yasunori to start with as he may turn into a bit of a crutch...  Shenlong's great in that he makes any crew just better.  It also really depends on how competitive you all are.  A lot of the advice on the forums are just the optimal tourney choices. If everyone's just beginning, then play whatever you like & you'll probably have a good game of it! 

We're not so hard core, so I usually like a good range of mid-level beaters with him.  A mix of Crime Bosses, Samurai, the Lone Swordsman and the Emissary. 

My big advice would be to leave it with what you've bought/are buying.  You've got a good selection of models there to experiment with to get you into the game. If you really want to give Wryd some more money (who could blame you :) ), then the only model I'd actually really recommend would be the Monks of Low River.  Not only do they get you a heap of cards with the Shenlong's Emissary they're also really good healers (with their upgrade) and scheme marker droppers.

• Like 1
  • Agree 1

The standard shen core is basically shadow emissary and one low river monk, to make use of his conflux to draw 3 cards. 

Aside from that, he plays well with a lot of models. So as Da Git said, I would look first for just having fun with what interests you. 

If you have a more competitive meta that is playing what wins, let us know and we can all chime in on how to take him to the next level.