Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
hollow1351

Smoke & Shadows/Smoke Grenades LoS

Question

Hi. Both of these upgrades place Smoke Markers which are Ht 5 Blocking Terrain. Terrain traits' wordings:

Quote

Blocking - Objects with the blocking trait cannot be seen through, and therefore block LoS (see pg. 40) if the Ht of the terrain is equal to or greater than the Ht of the models attempting to see through it.
Dense - Models can see into this terrain, but not through it. Models outside the dense terrain may draw LoS to targets within the terrain. Models may ignore the dense trait of terrain that they are within, when drawing LoS. Otherwise, the terrain is considered blocking.

Correct me if I'm mistaken. If model stands completely within Smoke Marker, there is no LoS to it from any side (unlike dense). Where should another model need to be placed to gain LoS to the noted model? In base contact with it? Within Smoke Marker, base contact not needed? Is it possible to gain LoS to such model at all?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

6 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Base contact only? It seems quite strong for Misaki with Deadly Dance. She can't be charged due to no LoS. If someone comes with Walk, she can discard a card, push half a millimiter away and stay within the same marker with no LoS again.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
11 hours ago, hollow1351 said:

Base contact only? It seems quite strong for Misaki with Deadly Dance. She can't be charged due to no LoS. If someone comes with Walk, she can discard a card, push half a millimiter away and stay in the same marker with no LoS again.

Just keep in mind that Misaki herself cant do it. You'd have to have a Torakage/Oiran/Wokou Raider following her around and tossing smoke. Bit of a logistics hurdle.

Wouldn't mind at all if you used it for a few games and reported back at some non-rules forum for results🙂

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Thanks. Small addition. Bombs can be placed either in base contact with each other or separately, right? When placed in base contact with each other, are both of them need to be placed in base contact with the user? I mean, the action itself has range 3, not clear why if they can be placed in btb with the user only.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
12 minutes ago, hollow1351 said:

Thanks. Small addition. Bombs can be placed either in base contact with each other or separately, right? When placed in base contact with each other, are both of them need to be placed in base contact with the user? I mean, the action itself has range 3, not clear why if they can be placed in btb with the user only.

Both actions to place bombs specifically say to place in btb. Since both markers are individual they naturally both need to be touching the model. They don't need to touch each other.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×