Countering summoning engine crews

Haagrum

I'm very new to Malifaux in terms of games. After a recent painful experience getting absolutely clobbered by Kirai, and with the apparent dominance of Nicodem crews, I'm keen to figure out how to beat summoning crews with Neverborn masters.

My first thought was 'alpha strike'. One generic option might be taking Serena Bowman and loading up heavy-hitting enforcers with Warped Reality. We have a few that can really dish out the pain (Mature Nephilim in particular) and can leave a hefty dent in whatever they go after. I thought Lazarus might be particularly good too, thanks to his damage reduction and ranged blasts. The downside is that it's a fairly straightforward strategy, our enforcers aren't the most resilient, and if you deploy first it's probably getting countered. If it doesn't work, you're probably done.

Something similar could also be done with access to lots of pushes. With Mr Graves and a Doppelganger, we can fling an extra model forward quickly. My concern is that anything short of Nekima won't be adequate alone, but even she is quite vulnerable when unsupported.

Another variation might be using a lot of Lures to pull models out of the summoning engine area and kill them off. I'm not sure how viable this idea would be.

My last idea was Lilith with 2 Terror Tots/other fast cheap models and 2 big hitters, with or without Serena Bowman. The upside is that you're not locked into an alpha strike, and none of those models aren't things you would only take to counter summoners. The downside is that it's resource intensive: you need 2 9+ cards, plus Soulstones for each that isn't a Mask, and that's just to set it up - you still need to hit stuff hard enough to break the summoning engine. Maybe the pressure will be enough if the turn-one hit doesn't work - I lack the experience to be an effective judge.