Jump to content
  • 0
DTH

Suit Symbols on Stats / Actions

Question

Hey,

 

I'm probably being a dumbass but I've read the rules a few times and can't find the explanation;

Some stats and actions have a suit symbol listed next to them (e.g. Pandora has a mask next to her Wp).

What does this mean? 

I guess it adds the suit to the flip? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

6 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 2
3 minutes ago, DTH said:

I guess it adds the suit to the flip? 

Yup. Whenever Pandora makes a Wp duel her final duel total is going to be 7:mask+ whatever card flipped. So if it was say a 12:tome her final duel total will be 19:mask:tome

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 1
1 minute ago, DTH said:

So;

(1) Cleaved MI 6 Ram

Also adds a Ram to the flip?

So if a trigger requires 1 Ram, doesn't this always trigger? Why not just build that into the action? 

 

There are models that can stop triggers from being declared or that can strip suits from stats. Additionally there are some triggers, Crit Strike being the best example, that have an effect based on the number of that suit you have if your final duel total.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
3 minutes ago, santaclaws01 said:

Yup. Whenever Pandora makes a Wp duel her final duel total is going to be 7:mask+ whatever card flipped. So if it was say a 12:tome her final duel total will be 19:mask:tome

So;

(1) Cleaved MI 6 Ram

Also adds a Ram to the flip?

So if a trigger requires 1 Ram, doesn't this always trigger? Why not just build that into the action? 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 minute ago, santaclaws01 said:

There are models that can stop triggers from being declared or that can strip suits from stats. Additionally there are some triggers, Crit Strike being the best example, that have an effect based on the number of that suit you have if your final duel total.

Thanks for all your help! ☺

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

For several reasons:

1) what if you have multiple triggers? Baking it into the action allows you to declare another one on top.

2) What if they Design an upgrade that gives you triggers on attacks. Ties into the above point.

3) Several models can steal suits from your abilities. That makes it harder to declare triggers. Those abilities would be pretty worthless if the trigger was just part of the action.

4) there are models and abilities that shut off trigger use. The students from university of transmortis are some examples. Those abilities would be worthless if the trigger was just part of the action.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I'm fairly new to 2nd edition, but this REALLY helped out. was teaching my wife to play and she bought the torch and blade set, had no clue what it meant haha. thought you had to have that symbol on the card as well to consider passing the test. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×