Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
CMKeller89

Starting Tinkerer Construct?

Recommended Posts

The Winchester

A quadruped construct that is characterized by its (rather useful) pneumatic winch.

It’s winch is rather useful since it has a hook attachment and the ability to shoot the hook for distance essentially creating a grappling hook with a retraction mechanism.

Cost: 24 Scrip

Base: 10 Scrip

AG Harpoon Gun: +14 Scrip

 

If you’re willing to pay out of you miscellaneous starting scrip, you can also add a +2 Archery for another 5 Scrip, but that’s optional.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Depends on if the Fatemaster lets you use starting scrip on it.  Also starting as Tinkerer means Darlin Theories for your magic theory so you need a Focus which costs you at least 5 scrip.  Which would leave you no other gear if they did let you use any of your starting scrip.

My personal thought is going with one with a US&E Pump Action shotgun which costs 4 scrip.  So between base and shotgun you are at 14 scrip leaving you two construction points.  At that point if you just want it shooting you could drop 1 point to give it Shotgun 2 and the other on upping Grace to +2 for an AV 4.  Or go Shotgun 2 with the first construction point and put the second construction point into Martial Arts.  At that point it has an AV 3 for Shotgun and AV 3 for Martial Arts for a 1/2/4 damage spread.  I would also consider slugs for the shotgun ammo for the positive to damage.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, EnternalVoid said:

Depends on if the Fatemaster lets you use starting scrip on it.  Also starting as Tinkerer means Darlin Theories for your magic theory so you need a Focus which costs you at least 5 scrip.  Which would leave you no other gear if they did let you use any of your starting scrip.

You don’t “have” to use the Darlin Theories.  It certainly helps but is not required.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
54 minutes ago, Steamtastic Vagabond said:

You don’t “have” to use the Darlin Theories.  It certainly helps but is not required.

Technically you Do.  Page 98, "Every Pursuit has a Step 0 Talent.  This Talent is gained as soon as you choose the Pursuit for the first time, regardless whether it is done at character creation or at the start of a later session."  Then page 149 under Machine Magic, the Step 0 Talent for Tinkerer.   The 4th paragraph "If she does not possess a Magical Theory, she gains the Darlin Theories Magical Theory.".  As you have no chance before hand to pick up a grimoire or learn a manifest power before this point *per page 251, gaining a magical theory* you have no chance to pick one prior.

So at character creation you gain your Step 0 Talent when you pick the Tinkerer as your starting pursuit and at which point as you do not possess another magic theory you gain the Darlin Theories.  A Fatemaster might let you pick a different one as they are the Fatemaster, but as the rules are written it would seem you do have to use the Darlin Theories if you pick Tinkerer as your starting pursuit.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@Steamtastic Vagabond From my reading of the rules, there is not a set mechanic to change your magical theory over time, as that's the way you've learned to interact and harness magic. If an event alters the fated's relationship with the universe in a compelling way, I'd consider it as FM, but it would need to be pretty significant.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×