New to Malifaux, New to Sandeep

8wGremlin

As the title says I'm new to Malifaux and new to Sandeep.
I was drawn to Sandeep's versatility, his ability to summon, and the range of academics that he can utilize. 

I'm thinking something like this, to make use of Beacon, and Tutelage 

Declared Faction: Arcanists 
Crew Name: Sandeep oxford
Leader: Sandeep Desai 
  Command another Plane  or A Moment of Weakness
  Enlightened Soul
  Tutelage  
Amina Naidu 
Oxfordian Mage  
  Blood Ward 
  Temporary Shielding  
Oxfordian Mage 
  Doom Ward  
  Temporary Shielding 
Oxfordian Mage
  Nemesis Ward  
  Temporary Shielding  
Silent One 

Silent one is to help with healing etc. 
We normally play with 30ss. 

Would this be a good set up?
What advice would you give?
What else do I need?

Given the number of discards that your crew would like to be using I would recommend swapping out Enlightened Soul for either Arcane Reservoir (and the Silent One for the Arcane Effigy) or Unaligned Sage. You should probably figure out a way to get Warding Runes on Amina Naidu and the Silent One might be almost anti-synergy with Amina's aura to give :-fate to attacks against half wound models, if you need healing there is a trigger on Sandeep's push that heals the caster 2.

If you put Sandeep and the Oxfordians together you'll have a strong crew no matter what you do with the rest of the points, so just have fun with it.

10 minutes ago, 8wGremlin said:

The arcane effigy,  I'm not sure how that works to help me with the number of discards?