Character Creation and Experience gap

Griautis

Hello,

I just started playing TTB and I looked slightly into the character creation theory and what kind of XP values you get out of character creation. It basically comes down to: flipping skills with more threes is better XP wise than not. Especially because you get a free trigger which is paid for afterwards. While one might argue that having a diverse skill set (as does the book itself) is better, the same argument can be made for having triggers being more exciting (since Triggers -> me doing new exciting stuff, compared to having a few points in different skills, which just leads me to an AV of a point or two higher on things I could have done already).
Anyways, here's some numbers, first of all, here's a table of a single skill flip, how much XP that gives you and what's the chance of that flip. 

skillFlipXpValue.PNG.e54dd15a73a0c0089bb2643bf8cc28da.PNG

As we can see, a single flip is meant to give you an average of around 13-14 xp, with a few weaker characters, and better characters trailing away. Seems like a very intentional XP Curve for the skills. 

Generally, a character flips two cards for skills, however. Here's a table with both flips taken into account:

skillFlipXpValueTwoFlips.thumb.PNG.05c6d5547399c6b9179fe36d2f09d57b.PNG

This one doesn't seem as intentional anymore, as we have a high chance to land at 26-27 xp, and then ~31, with the values dropped around more randomly.

However, taking into account that generally, a character gains 1 XP/session, it means that someone going on the lower end of things (25/26 xp) compared to someone lucking out and getting (35/36) is at a gap of 10 gaming sessions to catch up. While the chance for two players for this to happen fairly low, the chance of having a situation like this in a group of 5 or so players increases quite substantially.