Shock & Awe's Acrylic Slather House

Shock & Awe

I'm new to mini painting and war games, but I'm really starting to love the hobby.  

I wanted to start posting pics of my stuff to get critiques or ideas to take my work to the next level, so I've created a gallery with my latest minis in it and will post any new ones I do from now on.  

The link is here:

**If it's better to link the pics instead, let me know... not 100% sure of the etiquette :) 

• Like 4

I prefer to just see the pictures here. Far less hassle for me :)

Looking good, all of them! Red haired guy is a standout for me, purely on a paint scheme level. His exaggerated red hair sells it for me. I haven't watched that anime but established works are often a good source for paint schemes if you're out of ideas. For feedback I'd recommend you read up on contrast, highlighting, shading, blending. All that jazz.

Take the backshot of the red haired guy for instance:

large.IMG_6138.JPG.bc3f3191788b2cedcff0c

At the end of the day it's all taste but I think his hair looks a lot better than his coat or sleeves. For me it boils down to the 'distance' between highlights and shadows. Could just be a bad photo but sleeves have hardly any light-dark contrast and it's very mild on the blue. With hair you've gone very dark red/brown on the deepest shadows and comparatively light orange/red on the highlights. And that looks better. Could of course push the hair further still but credit where it's due.

Just look up various techniques and play around with them. See what you like and you don't. We're all doing this (I hope) for fun, so don't fret too much about it.

• Like 2

6 hours ago, Nikodemus said:

Just look up various techniques and play around with them. See what you like and you don't. We're all doing this (I hope) for fun, so don't fret too much about it.