Hamelin in 2018, Marlena Webster

Phinn

Hello :)

I have faced Hamelin only three times so far and all of those games were very enjoybale, but...
The first two games I played back when I was a Malifaux newbie, so I was just groping in the darkness.
The third one I played the past year and it was a part of the league. My opponent invited me to his home, his wife made us all nice lunch, we had some beers...
I am trying to say that my perception of wether or not Hamelin is enjoyable, or at least OK, to play against might be distorted.

Do you think that Hamelin, with his new upgrades and Benny Wolcomb, will be enjoyable more or less to play against in Gaining Grounds 2018?
I do understand that it is more about your opponent than your opponent's Crew, but... In the vacuum, what do you think?

I also wanted to ask few questions about Marlena Webster.

• Does her being a Lost model mean something for Hamelin?
  • Does she have any synergy with other thematic models? Does she fill any gaps that a thematic Hamelin Crew might have?
  • Does she or other models in a thematic Hamelin Crew have enough synergy with Wicked Dolls to justify buying them? How often do you find yourself summoning them?

I am a Neverborn player and I know next to nothing about The Scum The Outcasts. Thank you in advance :)

I can't specifically comment on Hamelin, but I feel like the Wicked Doll summoning is basically trinket text for Marlena. There isn't really any synergy with poison in outcasts, and since she needs the suit AND a scrap marker I don't think it will come up a lot at all. I'm sure it will be crucial in the odd game, but I won't be buying any wicked dolls for her to summon...

1. As for now, Marlene being a Lost is only for fluff purposes. Maybe in the future we will see model who has special interactions with this characteristic (like Benny has with Vermin).