Jump to content

We're currently updating the site and a few things may run slow or not as expected at the moment. Give us a day or two to get everything sorted out and changed up if you would.

One of the new things you'll see about are the 'sticky notes' which you will occasionally see from the site Admins if something important shows up or is newsworthy, or if you happen to be in one of our many beta testing groups giving you an additional heads up when something new needs to be looked at or sorted.

You can send these amongst yourselves as well if you wish, just don't abuse it. 

Thanks for your patience!

Nathan Caroland Nathan Caroland
  • 0
RumbleMunkey

Collodi's Decoy ability and blasts

Question

If I have Collodi standing next to a stitched together and both take lethal damage from the same blast, can Collodi kill the Stitched to reduce the damage he's taking from the blast to 0? I've been playing it that he cannot, but I wasn't sure on the timing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

5 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 2

Small rulebook page 59 under "Blasts":

Quote

In situations where the order that models suffer damage matters, the Attacker may determine the order in which the affected models resolve the blast effects.

So the attacker can choose to damage Collodi first, enabling it to use its Decoy Ability to take 0 wounds, or it could choose to damage and kill off the stitched first denying Collodi the use of Decoy.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, Nikodemus said:

Small rulebook page 59 under "Blasts":

So the attacker can choose to damage Collodi first, enabling it to use its Decoy Ability to take 0 wounds, or it could choose to damage and kill off the stitched first denying Collodi the use of Decoy.

That makes sense, but I was more wondering about the technicality where a model at 0 wounds isn't removed until after the damage resolution step (relevant for post damage pushes, etc). So the stitched is a 0 wounds but still on the board until all damage is resolved. Wouldn't that technically allow Collodi to target and sac him to prevent the damage?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Ludvig   
1 hour ago, RumbleMunkey said:

That makes sense, but I was more wondering about the technicality where a model at 0 wounds isn't removed until after the damage resolution step (relevant for post damage pushes, etc). So the stitched is a 0 wounds but still on the board until all damage is resolved. Wouldn't that technically allow Collodi to target and sac him to prevent the damage?

You do everything including placing markers and removing models completely for one model at a time before moving onto the next.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
solkan   
10 hours ago, RumbleMunkey said:

That makes sense, but I was more wondering about the technicality where a model at 0 wounds isn't removed until after the damage resolution step (relevant for post damage pushes, etc). So the stitched is a 0 wounds but still on the board until all damage is resolved. Wouldn't that technically allow Collodi to target and sac him to prevent the damage?

There's only one case where that technicality woul hold, in part: The target of the attack, when it is subject to an 'After damaging' trigger.

Even then, models killed by a aren't held on the board until all damage is resolved.  You apply the damage to each model, killing each model in turn, and unless it's the object of the After Damaging trigger, it gets removed when it dies.

Malifaux doesn't have a notion of simultaneous damage like some games (like Warmachine/Hordes Mk II).  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×