I've got that Hoffman/Mcmourning fever

4thstringer

Immediate thought upon reading your title: "And the only prescription, is more cowbell!"

That said, I have little helpful knowledge to offer on either master, except that I hear Hoffman works especially well with a metal gamin and can make a steam aracnid swarm really shine.

42 SS Guild Crew
Hoffman + 3 Pool
- Arcanist Assets (1)
- Field Mechanic (2)
- On Site Assimiliation (2)
Mechanical Attendant (2)
Ryle (10)
- A Debt To The Guild (1)
Joss (10)
Brutal Emissary (10)
- Conflux of Amalgamation (0)
Mobile Toolkit (3)

There is 8ss left over. Those are best spent on scheme runners like Reporters, Watchers or Steam Arachnids. Hoffman will spend his ap on the first turn on throwing some upgrades. Later in the game he will be mostly using Machine Puppet on Joss or Ryle. Using ap to power loop anything isn't a great idea here, because everything important already has high durability and high attack stats. The only exception would be if you wanted a really strong turn of shooting with Ryle, but it probably won't ever be worth it. With :+fate for damage from Toolkit the damage this list deals is monstrous. None of the models rely on triggers too heavily, so you aren't losing much when targeting them with Machine Puppet.

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

34 minutes ago, Franchute said:

@Myyrä you used to like Langston + emissary. What changed your mind?

Short answer is that most of the time I have been explaining how to do nasty alpha strikes with Hoffman, not showcasing my preferred lists necessarily.

The long answer is as follows: