Advice putting together a Marcus crew?

Stoobert

Hey, thanks for reading.  I'm new to the game, anticipate casual play, and am looking for advice putting together a Beast-themed Marcus crew.  Marcus + Myranda + Beasts, that's all.

I'd like to get 50-60ss of models.  Inventory so far: just Claw and Fang box + one Dawn Serpent a friend gave me.

Could some of your more experienced players may have ideas what works best for synergy?  Here is a crew I came up with based on reading some stats.  Thoughts?

The core (19ss)

• Marcus
  • Myranda
  • Jackelope
  • Sabretooth Cerberus (may need a second model for Myranda!)

The minions (23ss)

• Razorspine Rattler - backup
  • Waldgeist - blocker
  • Dawn Serpent - artillery

The schemers and objectifiers (7ss)

• Canine Remains - grab objectives
  • Malifaux Raptor - contest scheme tokens

Total 49ss

Don't have thoughts about Upgrades yet, and am TOTALLY open to suggestions and swapping out.  That's just a wild idea up there.   Thx!

I'm not a Marcus player, but I play against a Marcus player locally quite a bit.  Starting at upgrades: I know he takes several on Marcus to get crazy buffs and he'll often put Imbued Energies (discard for fast or draw 4 cards when killed/sacrificed) on Myranda and another enforcer.

Beasts:

You are in the right mindset as far as what I've faced off against. 

I haven't faced off against a double cerberus (myranda sac change) yet but it could be trouble.  Usually keeping Myranda back to buff and heal the beasts and then use the original cerberus a bit more aggressively seems to work.

Rattler I think is really good for the cost.  It keeps models close unless they have movement shenanigans and can really put out some damage when it wants.  Only issue is that 9 wounds can go pretty fast when targeted by another beater.

Raptors are annoying and good at it.