New Crew/Tactics

Mxbedlam

Hey everyone. Anyone playing anything new? Or have you tried any new tactics out? I'm finding that my lists are getting pretty static lately. I've been playing Arcanists for almost 2 years and outside of tiny adjustments my lists get pretty looked in. I challenged myself to 25 games with each master. So far I've done it with Ramos, Colette, Marcus and Kaeris and while they've helped me dial in my game with those crews, I'm feeling the stagnation lately. 

Not an arcanist but I usually try to do themed lists with the worst models and see if I can get them to work. Make a list of all the models you haven't taken in ages and try to make a few of them work.

Remove Joss, Howard, practiced production or whatever your auto includes are from your bag.

• Like 1

Pretty much I usually have a core of about 35 points and then a few rotational models depending on the schemes and such.

There's been a few models I've found that are situationally good but I like the ones that consistently perform better. Like Acolytes vs Gunsmiths etc

I've seen meta stagnation, where some of the more frequent and vocal players get into a mindset about their models that doesn't shift until something undeniably different comes along. At which point the new thing gets focus, but the old things stay the same a lot.

To avoid this, I started doing some screwball things, like bringing Luther in my Ramos list and giving Blade and Claw to Joss, while having a Raptor or two available to turn Joss and Johan into beasts and to use whomever is available to let me peek at and stack my own deck. It confuses the heck out of people who are more used to a static mode of play, and having a (0) on Joss (Beast Joss) that lets him swap places with a spider significantly improves his threat range (or otherwise move Luther from one region into another to enable more effective scheme hunting).