25SS Set Up?

CMKeller89

Really new to the game but have decided to focus on the Ten Thunder crew. Local game shop runs a lot of 25SS tournaments. So I was wondering what would you recommend as a good 25SS set up. The only additional requirement apart from being 25SS is it must be led by a Master. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

25ss is small. I'm really new to the game too, and have been playing 35ss games, but are consistently being encouraged to make the step up to 50. I would suggest that the following things that are likely to cause you bother in this format:

- Summoners. Something like Kirai with a Flesh Construct or a couple of Night Terrors will be horrible to play against in such low model count games.

- Big, Resilient beaters. If someone just throws a model like Archie into your lines, how will you deal with it? Maybe spread out to limit the impact of these models? 

- Pieces that can remove more than one model per turn. Do all that you can to prevent this e.g. spread out to prevent the melee whirlwind from the Viktorias.

Since summoning could potentially have a huge impact in games this small, Asami might be a decent pick.

Alternatively, Mei Feng plus Toshiro with Command The Graves and either Mechanised Porkchop or Emberling will give you a flexible Master who is capable of removing enemy models from unexpected positions, providing you can place the required scrap markers and construct models correctly. Toshiro brings some summoning (see statement above).

Lynch might also be a good pick, since Huggy is essentially free, allowing you to bring a big beater model and still keep your model count up (you might not have much of a cache though).

Misaki can potentially remove >1 model per turn. In a game with typically 4-5 models, she could have a massive impact on the game.