Welcome to Wyrd Forums

Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to contribute to this site by submitting your own content or replying to existing content. You'll be able to customize your profile, receive reputation points as a reward for submitting content, while also communicating with other members via your own private inbox, plus much more!

This message will be removed once you have signed in.

  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
TeddyBear

Shooting into engagement and "within"

Question

Sorry for this repetitive question.

When a friendly model is over 2" from an enemy; models that are friendly with first can shooting (without randomize) is correct?

Where can i find this rule? only on errata?

 

is it true that in all miniatures games "within" means that the model can add the lenght of his base?

for example: place this model "within" 4" it could be 4 plus his base? then a model on a 50 base is placed at 6" approximately?

 

thanks

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

6 answers to this question

  • 6

Question #1:

"Shooting Into Engagements" on page 50 small rulebook.

Quote

When a model wants to perform a Projectile (:ranged) Attack Action targeting a model which is engaged with one or more models which are also within 2” of the target, it must randomize the target.

...

The Attacker flips one card for each model within 2” of the target model, including the target model itself.

So no you don't randomise if no one is within 2'' of the target and engaging it.

Question #2:

Any part of the base will do.

Callout box on page 40 small rulebook:

Quote

Within
When an Action States that an object must be within a distance, if any portion of that object’s base is at that distance or closer it is considered within the stated distance.

 

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 5

First question: you only randomise between all models that are within 2" of your target if your target is engaged. So if your target has a 3" engagement range, and the only thing engaging it is more than 2" away, then you don't need to randomise. This can be found with the rest of the rules about randomising into engagement (no page number on hand right now).

 

Second question: I can't speak for all miniatures games, but in Malifaux "within X inches" means any point of the base being less than or equal to X inches away from any point of the other base. In the case of placing a model within a certain distance, you just need to make sure that any part of its base after being placed is within the maximum distance of any part of its base before it was placed. So yes, in this case you can essentially add the distance of your base.

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 2

You only randomize if your target is engages with a model within 2". So even if you're engaged at over 2" and getting shot at it won't randomize to models next to you.

 

Within just means if any part of it's base is within the given radius.

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Thanks Dog. for your always fast and clear answers!

Only i don't find the rule of shooting; both in big and in small book.. is it possible that is only in errata?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Hello @TeddyBear,

Everything is in the rule book. You dont need any errata.

On page 48 of the small rulebook that is available for free, you have the rule for engagement. At the end, of the second paragraph in this section, you can read that "Models are never engaged with models that are friendly to them". I'm quoting this sentence in case you're asking if you can shoot a friend who less than 2'' away from another friend (and no ennemy is around). In this case, you dont randomize.

Then, if an ennemy is engaged with a friend and this friend is less than 2'' from the ennemy, you would randomize. As @Nikodemus said, on page 50 of the same book, you have the rule for shooting into engagement. He also gave you the rule for "within".

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Just a note, the only time within means completely within is deployment. 

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0